Sub Panel Amperage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2008, 01:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sub Panel Amperage


I'm running a sub panel to my shop. It is a double pole 50 amp breaker at the house. Does my sub panel in the shop have to be 50 amps or less or can I install say a 70-100 amp sub panel and just not max it out?

Advertisement

houstonbrama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 08:59 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Sub Panel Amperage


The 50 in the house is your overcurrent protection. The larger breaker in the sub-panel is just a disconnect.
You are fine.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 10:22 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Sub Panel Amperage


The sub-panel itself you are installing in your shop would have to be rated for at least the ampereage that it's being protected by....in the scenario you describe, it would have to be rated at least 50 amps. It can be rated for more, but not less. Any breaker used in the sub-panel that is larger in amperage then the feeder overcurrent protection (the 50 A in the house) is going to act as a disconnect. Any breaker less in size will act as an overcurrent device.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 10:57 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sub Panel Amperage


Excellent. Thanks for info guys!!
houstonbrama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 03:37 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 11:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 11:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts