Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2010, 04:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

sub panel


i would like to install a 100amp sub in my new addition...what size romex would i need? and is it ok run romex through floor joists? any info would be appreciated..

jdjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 04:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

sub panel


How far a run is it from main to your purposed sub panel? What size main service do you have now?

Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 04:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

sub panel


and....where are you located ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 06:00 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

sub panel


60 feet and 200 amp main panel..located in New Jersey...
jdjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 06:57 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

sub panel


#3's will work just fine...you'll need red black white and ground in the cable and the sub panel can be a loadcenter with no mains provided it's protected by a 100A breaker at the main service. Double check to make sure that the ground and the neutral AREN'T bonded at the new panel. I honestly don't know if it's legal to drill a hole that size in a floor joist. I would guess it depends on the size of the existing joist but i can't give you an answer on that so i'll let someone else pipe up. I have a feeling you can't though.

I checked it out and in most cases you can drill up to 1/3 the size of the joist as a hole but must be 2.5 inches from the nearest edge so you should indeed be able to run your cable through it.

Last edited by andrew79; 04-07-2010 at 08:00 PM.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 11:18 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Default

sub panel


Look above in the thread titled Stubbies drawings. At the top of the main forum page. There you will find a drawing for your new installation. Use the search function on this forum and use the search term "sub panels" and take advantage of all the years of explaining how to do this. Its all right here for you. You just need to look around. Then if you require more help, please let us know.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.