Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2008, 12:52 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

Sub Panel


True that. Fortunantly my garage is a little different. I have a Gas heating unit, and another of other things. But if it was just a shed that would be funny and a lot of work.

BenJoeM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 10:51 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Sub Panel


Not really a lot of work, the 60 amp disconnect is simply a disconnect at the outbuilding rated for 60 amps. Your feeder could be a 30 amp breaker at the house, but at the other end the disconnect for the structure must be rated for at least 60 amps. This is not to say that the disconnect can't be bigger; IE: if you are running a 100 amp service to another building/garage/shed etc.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.