Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2008, 08:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Share |
Default

Sub Panel


Ok here is my question.. In the garage i have a Stab-lock Yea i know all about it,, they wired it oddly im replacing it with a Square D QO6-12L100
Now they wired it grounded all the way back to the main panel?
I have pics should i use a ground bar and just use the one in the panel and cut the ground to the box?

She sub panel is grounded stake and ground clamp.. as well as a wire running back to the main panel so it looks

Any info is needed as i have never replaced a sub panel

The 240 or what ever is in the other dual 30 is getting removed as the main line don't look like it has the ability to hold it..

I will add a dedicated 20 for my small compressor

I will add 4 15's and 1 20A total is that ok?

than i will remove all AL wire in time

Thanks Jay




Attached Thumbnails
Sub Panel-trash.jpg  

Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 08:43 AM   #2
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Sub Panel


What size is your feeder coming from the main panel? You mentioned there is a ground wire going to the main panel? I would assume that means that it is XX/3 wire. Your ground and neutral bars in the sub panel need to be seperated.

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 08:56 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Sub Panel


Actually the Ground is totally separate The feeder is dual 30Amp

See Pic

So Can i remove the Green Ground coming from main and use a ground bar? off the sub panel ground spike?
Attached Thumbnails
Sub Panel-wire.jpg  
Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 08:57 AM   #4
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Evnldr View Post
I will add a dedicated 20 for my small compressor

I will add 4 15's and 1 20A total is that ok?

than i will remove all AL wire in time

I would not put all that on a 30. What side wire is the feeder?


ETA: Nvm, I see on the wire it is 10/3.


Can you pull a new wire?
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 09:12 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Sub Panel


No it's burred in conduit

I misspoke i need

3 15's = Lights and recpt's
1 20 = heavy loads

They had 4 circuits on 2 15's and a 240 running at one time

What about my Extra ground Bad or over kill?

Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 09:36 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Sub Panel


Sub panels must be grounded back to the main panel. Four wires. 2 hots, 1 Neutral, and 1 ground. It looks like the black cable on the right side entering the enclosure is the feeder right. There are four wires in this feeder cable. Just get a grounding terminal strip for your panel and move all grounds (bares & greens) to this new bar. From this new bar you will run another bare copper wire to the ground rod or rods. Your existing sub panel is larger than 30 amp. If you only need a couple light fixtures and one 20 amp circuit for small power tools 30 amp will be just fine. But like Cowboy, I always go bigger when doing jobs like this. What size is the conduit from the source to the sub panel? If that black cable is in that conduit, I am certain you can easily upgrade to a larger service. You can keep the existing panel if you decide to upgrade. Remember, no more than 6 breakers in this lug panel. If you excede 6 you will need a main breaker.

Last edited by J. V.; 06-16-2008 at 09:07 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 10:01 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Sub Panel


The black wire is a 240 that will be gone the feeder is the 10/3 with the extra external ground wire as seen in the pic
Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 10:27 AM   #8
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Sub Panel


I am confused now. You say that the white 10/3 is the feeder, but it is going to a breaker? and the black sheathed is a branch circuit, but it goes to the main lugs in the panel???
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 10:36 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Sub Panel


better picture


10/3 Red Left Pole
BlackRight pole
Green and White on Neutral block
Also has a Green Ground going to the neutral block and ground spike

The Ground from the 10/3 is routed back to the main.. and a Extra Stand alone ground is also do i need 2 grounds from the main or can i remove the stand alone the green wire in the pic



So what is the limit on a 30 amp dual poll feed?
Attached Thumbnails
Sub Panel-panel.jpg   Sub Panel-pan-two.jpg  

Last edited by Evnldr; 06-12-2008 at 10:58 AM.
Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:10 PM   #10
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 749
Default

Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Evnldr View Post
So what is the limit on a 30 amp dual poll feed?
Umm, 30A?

Seriously, are you talking about the minimum conductor size for the feeder?
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:18 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Sub Panel


this panel is supplied via a dual 30A (just like the one in the pic) breaker from the main panel using 10/3+ ground and another solo ground


With One 20A how many other 15's can i run SAFELY ..

I'm replacing the panel with a new one ALL lines will be on it;s own

The garage has 7 recpt total and 4 lights and one flood light the 20 will run my 110 compressor and other saws ect..
Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:36 PM   #12
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 749
Default

Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Evnldr View Post
With One 20A how many other 15's can i run SAFELY ..
As many as the panel can accommodate! I know this sounds strange, but as far as safety is concerned, if your connected load exceeds the trip rating of the breaker in the main panel, the breaker opens. So, I think the questions that need to be answered are:

1. How big should the main breaker be back in the main panel?
2. How big should the conductors for the feeder be?

And both of these answers are a function of what the anticipated load will be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evnldr View Post
The garage has 7 recpt total and 4 lights and one flood light the 20 will run my 110 compressor and other saws ect..
Not too long ago, I installed a panel in my detached garage in anticipation of running a compressor and some 120V shop tools as well. I spent some time trying to anticipate this and that when I finally said, "to heck with it." Bought a 60A panel, 60A 2P breaker and ran 6awg. THWN (which I happened to already have on hand). Let me tell you, this is waaaaay overkill though. That being said, you can probably get away with 30A but if it was me, I'd increase it. On the other hand, it's hard to tell what kind of load you'll really be subjecting this to.

BTW, I put my compressor on its own 20A circuit. I'd be more concerned about your 20A breaker tripping than your main if you start adding a chop/miter saw to the same 20A circuit with the running compressor.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 01:00 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Sub Panel


Only one Tool at a time or a compressor and a tool on the 20A

Small 3 HP 21 gallon

But the question i still don't have answered is..

Do I need the extra 10AWG green ground that the previous owner installed

From the main i have a

10/3 + Ground
and a 10/1 Ground

Can i remove the extra ground or not?
Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 03:30 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Evnldr View Post
Only one Tool at a time or a compressor and a tool on the 20A

Small 3 HP 21 gallon

But the question i still don't have answered is..

Do I need the extra 10AWG green ground that the previous owner installed

From the main i have a

10/3 + Ground
and a 10/1 Ground

Can i remove the extra ground or not?
If you can verifiy that the ground in the feed is indeed connected at the main panel, and it is the same size as the 10/3 feeding the panel, I think you would be able to remove the extra green wire.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 12:38 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Sub Panel


Ok i will probably leave it cannot hurt i guess

Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.