Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2011, 01:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

sub panel


i am installing a 60 amp sub panel in my garage. the main panel has only a ground bar and the main ground is attached to it. all the neutrals also attach to this bar. my sub panel also has only one bar. should i run a neutral wire from ground bar in main panel to bar in sub panel and ground sub panel to its own ground? (if so can i use a water pipe or does it have to be a ground rod?)

waynebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 01:38 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

sub panel


Attached or detached garage? Is the subpanel in the same structure as the main panel?

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 01:40 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

sub panel


attached, same structure
waynebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 05:56 AM   #4
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

sub panel


In the subpanel you will install a ground bar kit. The neutrals and grounds will be on seperated in the subpanel . Since this subpanel is in the same structure another ground rod is not required for the sub.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 07:32 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by waynebo View Post
i am installing a 60 amp sub panel in my garage. the main panel has only a ground bar and the main ground is attached to it. all the neutrals also attach to this bar. my sub panel also has only one bar. should i run a neutral wire from ground bar in main panel to bar in sub panel and ground sub panel to its own ground? (if so can i use a water pipe or does it have to be a ground rod?)
In addition to the other posting..
You will need to pull 4 wires, two hots, a neutral, and a ground.
At the main the neutral and ground will connect to the neutral bar (ground bar)
At the sub you will have to add a ground bar that will be bonded to the panel case. You will connect all your ground wires to this bar.
The neutral bar in the sub has to be isolated from the case and all the neutral wires will connect here.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:24 AM   #6
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,072
Rewards Points: 506
Blog Entries: 7
Default

sub panel


For 60 amp in the same building shouldn't he just be able to run 6-3 NM-B, which would provide his 2 hots, 1 neutral and 1 ground?

Just to note in detatched garage NM cable wouldn't be allowed because it is not rated for underground.

I see what you're saying about the ground bar... I ran into the same thing, my garage subpanel is a Homeline 100 amp main breaker load center. You have to buy the ground bar seperately, they give you a multitude of places to install it - it only takes 1 screw and it's located by 2 bumps on the main panel. Real easy. The ground bars can be purchased in various sizes, for me the cost is $4-7 depending on how many screws... I put 2 ground bars in so I could have one on each side so I didn't have to run really long ground conductors around the whole perimeter of the panel.

__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel cleanup gdoucette Electrical 5 06-26-2010 02:01 PM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 10:16 AM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.