Stubbing Wires - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 01:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stubbing wires


Hi,

I am removing a non-bearing wall that has a couple lights, a couple outlets and 2 baseboard thermostat's.

I want to stub the lights and outlets in the ceiling, what is the correct way to handle this?

A junction box that is accessible and just wire nut and tape the wires?

Here is a picture of the wall you can disregard the labels.

http://i405.photobucket.com/albums/p...ouse/Wall2.jpg

PS the two thermostats will be combined into one and left above the switches there next to the vertical load bearing post.

Thanks!

Advertisement

mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Stubbing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by mntnvew View Post
A junction box that is accessible and just wire nut and tape the wires?!
Yes. That's all you need.

Since the wires nuts are probably too big to stay on single conductors, you will need to use tape to hold them on.

Advertisement


Last edited by AllanJ; 01-04-2009 at 02:05 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 03:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stubbing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Yes. That's all you need.

Since the wires nuts are probably too big to stay on single conductors, you will need to use tape to hold them on.

excellent thanks a lot!
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 05:08 PM   #4
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 360
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Stubbing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Since the wires nuts are probably too big to stay on single conductors, you will need to use tape to hold them on.
Please just use a smaller wire nut.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Heil DC90 - AC Wires keithshank HVAC 1 07-31-2008 09:37 PM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 03:55 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 10:38 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts