Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2007, 11:52 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Share |
Default

Structured Media Centers


Just wondering who is using them and what you recommend. I want to organize all of my computer and telephone runs and make them a little more manageable. Any tips on how these should be/ can be used to the greatest power?

wease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 01:03 PM   #2
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Structured Media Centers


I haven't done a lot of research. More casual. What I have seen are all somewhat proprietary. Home Depot carries a line. Lowes near me doesn't.

The Home Depot one, for example...
They have 2 sizes of main panels, large and really large.
They then have various inserts for different applications. Phone, LAN and Cable. These inserts somehow attach into this main chassis. various other dodads like power supplies (for what, I'm not sure) and other things were available.

For me - I needed to split CATV to multiple locations as well as provide for dual coax satellite connections, LAN and telco. I found the modular system would not really meet my needs. The CATV module was much more expensive that the 1x4 splitter I needed. The phone module was nice. The LAN module was a 5 port hub IIRC.

In the end I just split the CATV. Made all wires neat. Took the rats nest of wires for phone and neatened them up with the 1x8 module that I put into an enclosure from radio shack and I have my LAN in a different closet with a punch down block.

Anyway, I sort of rambled.

SmartHome may have something you like. www.smarthome.com

Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 10:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Structured Media Centers


I have a new home that had a "grayfox" system standard. It's pretty slick and I like the flexibility it allows me. Install the biggest box you can fit, it makes it much easier to add items such as routers and modems in it.

If you are just building, run a conduit from the box to the attic and another from the box to the crawl space, it makes it great for adding wires later.
ImproveInVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:24 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,030
Default

Structured Media Centers


Make sure that you think of the future needs (ie double the CATV wires, Ethernet, Telephone). If using the jacks that can double as RJ-11/RJ-45, it makes things easier. Also, run CAT-5e for all runs & RG-6 for CATV. If you are still unsure of doing everything, may be getting someone that does Network & A/V cabling to do the terminting.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Baluster Centers ?? sootybuttercup Carpentry 3 05-02-2007 08:36 PM
24 inch to 16 inch Centers dsearles Building & Construction 3 11-30-2005 10:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.