Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2014, 01:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


I installed a sub panel next to my main panel because I was out of spaces in the main load center. I set the sub panel up off of a 50 amp breaker in the main. To install this 50 amp breaker I had to move one 20 amp tandem and another 20 amp single pole breaker to get space. 3 circuits total.

2 of the 3 had no issues and worked fine when moved to the subpanel. The third circuit is what is causing me strange issues. When I flip on its breaker in the sub panel it immediately blows the 50 amp breaker in the main panel. Its 20 amp breaker in the sub does not trip.

I am sure it is wired correctly and I moved all three of the wires to the sub (hot, neutral and ground).

What could be the cause of this? Should I try to move it back to the main panel and swap it with another breaker??


thanks in advance!

mrules45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:40 PM   #2
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 813
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


Can you take a pic. I hate to speculate.

Robpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:53 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


Here are pictures from when I did the wiring. You should be able to see the wires from the circuits I moved at the bottom in the big panel.
Attached Thumbnails
Strange issue with sub panel installation-20140526_164042_android.jpg   Strange issue with sub panel installation-20140526_164054_android.jpg  
mrules45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 115
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


looks like the white wire from your 2pole breaker is landed on the neutral buss.
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:29 PM   #5
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 813
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


If the tandem breaker is the same brand as the other breakers(it looks like it might be different) I would shut off the 50 amp and turn all the others on and then turn the 50 on and see if one of the other breakers trip. I can't see anything wrong.
Robpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:32 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by pokey View Post
looks like the white wire from your 2pole breaker is landed on the neutral buss.
the white wire comes from the neutral bus in the main.

also. the tandem breaker was only there during the picture. it was immediately replaced with a single 20amp and the same issue occurred. I have tried just turning on that one circuit and the 50 amp breaker still trips.
mrules45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:43 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 115
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


thanks mrules . was hard to see at first
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 115
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


what does that one breaker feeds? did it ever trip before you relocated it?
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:49 PM   #9
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 813
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by pokey View Post
looks like the white wire from your 2pole breaker is landed on the neutral buss.
Strange issue with sub panel installation-bus.jpg
This one. Shouldn't it be?
Robpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:52 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by pokey View Post
what does that one breaker feeds? did it ever trip before you relocated it?
As far as I can tell it feeds two receptacles in my basement. It never tripped before I moved it and it worked fine.
mrules45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:52 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 653
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


Interesting.

Sounds like that circ is back fed and as you close the connection at the breaker it trips the two pole feeder breaker.

That it also didn't trip in the main panel because it was possibly on the same legg.

You would have done it live, but you wired it and didn't get rapped, .

with that breaker off.
check to see if that circuits hot?
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:53 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
Interesting.

Sounds like that circ is back fed and as you close the connection at the breaker it trips the two pole feeder breaker.

That it also didn't trip in the main panel because it was possibly on the same legg.

You would have done it live, but you wired it and didn't get rapped, .

with that breaker off.
check to see if that circuits hot?
I checked it while it was not supposed to be hot and it wasn't.
mrules45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:57 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 653
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


ok. just a thought..

Sorry.

It seams straight forward what you did.

Check again please.

Also, Do you have a continuity tester. check the original wire in the main panel, you may have damaged it.

Also, also, you can splice in panels, but I don't believe you're supposed to splice it that way.

Those circ's should get pulled out of the main panel and go directly to the sub panel, or pulled out of the main panel, spliced in a junction box and tied into the sub panel

Last edited by ritelec; 06-06-2014 at 03:04 PM.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 03:10 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 115
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


robpo. It looked to me at first that the white wire going to the sub was coming off the new breaker in main panel. I put my stronger specs on and saw I was wrong. it is tied into the neutral bar
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 04:56 PM   #15
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,544
Default

Strange issue with sub panel installation


You really just need to sort out what the fault is on that circuit. Maybe it's backfed from another circuit in the same subpanel. Maybe it developed a fault when you moved the wiring around. Impossible to say exactly what the problem is without testing it, but it shouldn't be that hard to figure out. Check with ONLY that breaker off to confirm that the circuit isn't live. Check for continuity to ground with all loads removed from the circuit. Move it to the other leg and see if it still trips. Move it to a different breaker and see if it trips. Move it to the main panel temporarily and see if it trips. Lots of ways to test for progressively more unlikely kinds of faults.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 10:49 AM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-20-2009 11:09 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Multiple Sub Panel Installation Handyman2007 Electrical 26 12-31-2007 05:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.