Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-24-2011, 09:00 AM   #1

Share |

Strange grounding issue

I am not a professional electrician, but do have some basic concepts. My training is more with electronics.

So anyways on one branch of the house, I have replaced some receptacles. A few of them were in bad shape or not even grounded. This house is very old and some electrical components outdated.

For the branch in question, when I test for voltages, I get these -

H to N - 120
H to G - 75
N to G - 45

Here is the strange part - When the "Dish TV" box is plugged in, then I get these readings -

H to N - 120
H to G - 120
N to G - 0

These readings appear on all outlets of the branch. I have only to plug the dish TV box in to somehow "correct" the voltages.

All but one of the outlets on the branch have been replaced and wiring inspected. I don't know if the one I DIDN'T mess with yet is bad but if not, what would cause the weird readings until I plug in the dish TV box?

Lastly, one of the power strips plugged in to my room has a light for "ungrounded" that illuminates when I unplug the dish TV box (which is in another room, on another receptacle)

Also, to take readings, I am using a DMM. Is that a bad idea?

AnErin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 09:12 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.

Strange grounding issue

This is a classic case of knowing how to do the physical work, but not knowing the codes or details on what you are doing.

You say this is an old house? This means it is likely that much of the wiring does NOT contain a valid equipment ground. Yet, you went around and installed 3-prong grounding receptacles? BAD idea.