Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 11:33 AM   #16
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 551
Share |
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


According to http://www.electrician2.com/calculat...cpd_ver_1.html a 26A load wants 8ga wire on a 40A breaker and will have a 1.2% voltage drop out of an allowed 5% at 70ft.

For wires I will be curling around screw terminals I prefer solid. For everything else, stranded is the way to go IMHO.

__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 01:35 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 58
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Fused or non fused disco?
non-fused disconnect.
rcassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:24 PM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcassidy View Post
The AC unit name plate data states 240 V, MCA= 26A, MOP= 45A. The AC unit will be approximately 70 ft from the main distribution panel. Not sure I fully understand NEC Table 310.16 regarding wire size.

What size wire should i use and what size breaker?
#10 copper THHN ( NM cable < 10-2 #> are ok with this distance ) with 40 amp breaker.

There is a special rules we can use due the A/C compressour it being used so it will use Art 430 et Art 440* there is some extempt with sizing on the conductors.

Merci,
Marc

* Only in NEC codes 2005 , 2008 and 2011 NEC editons are the same.
# SVP remark the white conductor to other colours so that way someone else do not make a mistake as neutal due this will be used as line conductor not netural
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 02:14 AM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


We would use a #10 wire with a 45 Amp breaker for such an installation.

And, yes, we do have 45 Amp breakers on hand for these types of jobs.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 02:52 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,216
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by tylernt View Post
According to http://www.electrician2.com/calculat...cpd_ver_1.html a 26A load wants 8ga wire on a 40A breaker and will have a 1.2% voltage drop out of an allowed 5% at 70ft.

For wires I will be curling around screw terminals I prefer solid. For everything else, stranded is the way to go IMHO.
Never saw a device over 20 amps that didn't have pressure connections.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 06:35 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


if you are going through the attic you may need to make an adjustment for ambient temp see derating table
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to usair For This Useful Post:
mm11 (05-07-2013)
Old 05-07-2013, 09:29 AM   #22
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 551
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by usair View Post
if you are going through the attic you may need to make an adjustment for ambient temp see derating table
Purely for my own education, what temperature does one consider an attic to be? I've never seen this in the NEC... there are some ASHRAE "suggestions" of 140F but I don't know if the NEC accepts ASHRAE for code purposes.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 12:18 PM   #23
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post


However this part it may get ya in a small bind due 45 amp breaker is not a super common item but they do have it if you order it otherwise 40 amp is most common size breaker and IMO it should hold allright but before you go get the 40 amp breaker SVP post the minuim running amps first before we will suggest the correct breaker size.

Merci,
Marc
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
We would use a #10 wire with a 45 Amp breaker for such an installation.

And, yes, we do have 45 Amp breakers on hand for these types of jobs.
I wrote the underline part and I know KBsparky did mention 45 amp breaker which I can get it in state side and most big box store may not stock this size but can be ordered or go to electrical supply centre to order that one.

What brand name breaker you have there?

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 12:22 PM   #24
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by tylernt View Post
Purely for my own education, what temperature does one consider an attic to be? I've never seen this in the NEC... there are some ASHRAE "suggestions" of 140F but I don't know if the NEC accepts ASHRAE for code purposes.
Not really in most case. you will have to use the common sense depending on where ya located and the type of attic it being used and the tempture will bounce anywhere from 48C to 62C ( 120 to 145F ) but if any conductors being run on the rooftop that will compound it may go higher than attic tempture all it depending on the set up.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Copper Wire to Aluminum Wire StarStryker11 Electrical 3 12-21-2012 12:48 PM
Use red and black wire as 110 in Canada mattm Electrical 10 11-26-2012 07:40 PM
How To Solder Copper Pipes Termite How To Guides 69 11-13-2012 12:20 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM
Alarm Wire, Stranded or Solid? gfchew Electrical 6 09-01-2008 08:57 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.