Stranded Vrs Solid Copper Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2013, 07:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


I'm in the process of installing central AC (4 ton). I plan to install #8 wire from the panel to the AC disconnect switch. Shall I use stranded or solid copper #8 wire?

thank you

Advertisement

rcassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:11 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


They don't make solid #8(at least I have never seen it) so you will have to use stranded.

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:17 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


What does the nameplate on the unit say?

Minimum circuit amps:

Maximum overcurrent protection:
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:19 PM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


#8 and larger installed in a raceway shall be stranded.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
ddawg16 (05-05-2013), micromind (05-05-2013)
Old 05-05-2013, 08:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Max overcurrent protection is 45 amps.
rcassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:23 PM   #6
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcassidy View Post
Max overcurrent protection is 45 amps.
What is minimum circuit ampacity?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:49 PM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,650
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
They don't make solid #8(at least I have never seen it) so you will have to use stranded.
You can get bare copper down to about #4...
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:57 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
You can get bare copper down to about #4...
I have seen 2/0 bare, but the OP was asking about solid vs stranded.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:58 PM   #9
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16

You can get bare copper down to about #4...
They make #2 AL solid
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 10:02 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


It really doesn't help the OP regarding the availability of larger bare conductors. They need insulated for their install.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 10:07 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Use stranded. At the either 10 or 8 gauge, it will be the most readily available and easiest to work with.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 10:46 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcassidy View Post
I'm in the process of installing central AC (4 ton). I plan to install #8 wire from the panel to the AC disconnect switch. Shall I use stranded or solid copper #8 wire?

thank you
I will make it very simple .,

They are only come in stranded once you get #8 or larger ( I know you can get them in soild but IMO that not even worth the hassle with it.)

As few other members asked what is the minuim running amps and I know you did posted the max running amp which you stated 45 amp.

Look at the name plate again and look for minuim size and this how we will sized the conductors from that sized conductor on minuim and breaker on max running amps.

However this part it may get ya in a small bind due 45 amp breaker is not a super common item but they do have it if you order it otherwise 40 amp is most common size breaker and IMO it should hold allright but before you go get the 40 amp breaker SVP post the minuim running amps first before we will suggest the correct breaker size.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-06-2013)
Old 05-06-2013, 10:34 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


The AC unit name plate data states 240 V, MCA= 26A, MOP= 45A. The AC unit will be approximately 70 ft from the main distribution panel. Not sure I fully understand NEC Table 310.16 regarding wire size.

What size wire should i use and what size breaker?
rcassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:37 AM   #14
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcassidy
The AC unit name plate data states 240 V, MCA= 26A, MOP= 45A. The AC unit will be approximately 70 ft from the main distribution panel. Not sure I fully understand NEC Table 310.16 regarding wire size.

What size wire should i use and what size breaker?
Fused or non fused disco?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:01 PM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

stranded vrs solid copper wire


#10 copper wire and a 40 amp breaker.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (05-07-2013), jbfan (05-06-2013), stickboy1375 (05-07-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Copper Wire to Aluminum Wire StarStryker11 Electrical 3 12-21-2012 01:48 PM
Use red and black wire as 110 in Canada mattm Electrical 10 11-26-2012 08:40 PM
How To Solder Copper Pipes Termite How To Guides 69 11-13-2012 01:20 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 02:00 PM
Alarm Wire, Stranded or Solid? gfchew Electrical 6 09-01-2008 09:57 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts