Stranded Or Solid Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2012, 10:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stranded or solid wire


I am in the process of I stalling a new 30a DP breaker in my panel and attaching that to a 30a inlet receptacle ia 10g wire for my back up 6500kw generator to plug into. Now most of you experienced members might laugh at this but I am not experienced and am posting here because I am a DIY homeowner.

I asked the senior electrical guy ( who is also a teacher of electrical at the local college) at home depot for some assistance with cutting me my 10g wires and he cut 3 feet of red. Black. Green and white for me. But it appears to be stranded wire not solid. He knew what this was for and still cut that. Is this bad and or gonna be a safety issue for my panel and or generator?

I am planning on installing this receptacle tmrw and wiring it up....obviously before I do that I wanted to check in with the members and get some feedback.

Thanks.

Advertisement

Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:58 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Stranded is fine.
Is this to be used inside the panel?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan
Stranded is fine.
Is this to be used inside the panel?
Yes. There's now a 30a breaker in that empty spot waiting to be wired up
Attached Thumbnails
Stranded or solid wire-image-3691252429.jpg  
Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:19 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Stranded or solid wire


If this is for a generator back-feed you MUST install an interlock kit to prevent the main breaker and the generator breaker from being on at the same time.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85
If this is for a generator back-feed you MUST install an interlock kit to prevent the main breaker and the generator breaker from being on at the same time.
I know and did. Wasn't inquiring about that. Only about the stranded vs solid wires.
Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:07 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Stranded wire is preferred over solid in such an installation.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:13 AM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,222
Rewards Points: 2,354
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Stranded wire is preferred over solid in such an installation.
KB,
Is that a personal preference or is there a compliance issue?

Poster,
? The 40 amp breaker below your empty slot. What does that feed? It does not look like #8 wire.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:26 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
KB,
Is that a personal preference or is there a compliance issue?
No code issue, and with #10 and up, I think most if not all electricians prefer stranded over solid. Its really only with #14 or #12 do you have the big debate.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:05 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
KB,
Is that a personal preference or is there a compliance issue?.....
Personal preference. When terminating a #10 wire into those flanged inlets, a stranded wire makes for a much better connection than that stiff #10 solid.

I have had the solid wire twist loose when manipulating the inlet after tightening the connection. Never happens with a stranded conductor.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:48 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles

KB,
Is that a personal preference or is there a compliance issue?

Poster,
? The 40 amp breaker below your empty slot. What does that feed? It does not look like #8 wire.
It's a 40a DP quad breaker. 1 set feeds the 4 ton AC compressor and the other set feeds a sub panel that runs the tankless water heater and the washing machine/dryer.
Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:55 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenie View Post
It's a 40a DP quad breaker. 1 set feeds the 4 ton AC compressor and the other set feeds a sub panel that runs the tankless water heater and the washing machine/dryer.
that 40 amp below vac space is not a 2 pole quad.it is just a bouble pole 40 amp.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:00 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,398
Rewards Points: 794
Default

Stranded or solid wire


You need guidence from an experienced electrician on how to install a generator panel.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:58 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74

that 40 amp below vac space is not a 2 pole quad.it is just a bouble pole 40 amp.
Sorry. Dumb that down for me? What's a bouble ?
Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:03 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Stranded or solid wire


doubble pole.two breakers rivetted together with a handel tie.quad breaker is two single pole two handel breakers riveted together.giving a 240 volt ckt and two sinhle pole ckts,or two 240 volt ckts.the two breakers at left of the vac spot are tandems.

Last edited by oleguy74; 11-09-2012 at 05:05 PM.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:07 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Stranded or solid wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenie View Post
I know and did. Wasn't inquiring about that. Only about the stranded vs solid wires.
Doesn't matter what you are inquiring about. He was correct in making that statement, just to be sure.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best practices for splicing stranded to solid wire sixspeed Electrical 13 09-30-2012 02:46 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 06:13 PM
Stranded wire in breaker? gma2rjc Electrical 3 09-25-2010 01:00 PM
connecting straight wire to stranded Cossack Electrical 5 07-30-2010 02:52 PM
6/3 NM stranded or solid to run to 50A subpanel amakarevic Electrical 5 10-31-2008 01:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts