Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2009, 06:49 AM   #1
skd
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red


Hi,
I am moving into a house that had a dryer outlet where the stove is supposed to go. As far as I know no dryer was ever installed there. The double breaker is 60 amp.

I removed the outlet cover and found 3 wires : white, black , bare, but no red!

How do I make it work so I can plug my stove?

(The stove is a newer one and has a 4 prong cord , but I can change that if needed)

Thanks for your help!

skd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 07:54 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red


Quote:
Originally Posted by skd View Post
Hi,
I am moving into a house that had a dryer outlet where the stove is supposed to go. As far as I know no dryer was ever installed there. The double breaker is 60 amp.

I removed the outlet cover and found 3 wires : white, black , bare, but no red!

How do I make it work so I can plug my stove?

(The stove is a newer one and has a 4 prong cord , but I can change that if needed)

Thanks for your help!
The only way to properly wire this for the stove is to replace the wiring with 6/3 w/g cable and replace the breaker with a 50A. (Alternatively you could use 8/3 and 40A). The white/black/bare has never been an acceptable way to wire a stove (or dryer).

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 09:09 AM   #3
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red


What is the neutral wire there for in 4-wire installs?

Last edited by BowDown; 05-08-2009 at 10:39 AM.
BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 10:44 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,697
Rewards Points: 2,192
Default

Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red


It returns the neutral current from the control circuits and light bulbs.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 10:46 AM   #5
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red


Gotcha so it basically provides the appliance with 240v and 120v...
BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 11:02 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red


Dryers and ranges are rated 120/240. That is why you have a neutral. Even though the range may operate without one, it is required in NEW installations.

Last edited by J. V.; 05-09-2009 at 10:45 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 03:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red


Your dryer must be on a 30 amp breaker. The existing wire is technically not proper for a range or a dryer. Type SE cable has a bare ground/neutral and is acceptable. Type NM is just about the same thing but its not legal.

Personally, if it was in my place, I wouldn't hesitate to use it. If I was doing any renovation work, I would replace it and make it legal.

If you do change to a 3 wire pigtail on your range, be sure the bonding strap in in place. It ties the center terminal (the bare neutral/ground) to the metal frame.



Quote:
Even though the range may operate without one, it is required.
In new installations.

Existing can use the 3 wire system.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 04:54 PM   #8
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Your dryer must be on a 30 amp breaker. The existing wire is technically not proper for a range or a dryer. Type SE cable has a bare ground/neutral and is acceptable. Type NM is just about the same thing but its not legal.

Personally, if it was in my place, I wouldn't hesitate to use it. If I was doing any renovation work, I would replace it and make it legal.

If you do change to a 3 wire pigtail on your range, be sure the bonding strap in in place. It ties the center terminal (the bare neutral/ground) to the metal frame.
Except the fact that the bare neutral in type SE cable is the same size (or almost) as the circuit conductors.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 06:44 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red


True but, how much current does it carry?

To me, the dangerous part is the possibility of the appliance carrying current if the neutral/ground opens. That could happen with any 3wire installation.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimmer wiring in a box with 3 black and 3 white wires and a pink wire to boot! everender Electrical 9 02-15-2009 09:24 AM
Temporary wall support question discojv Building & Construction 7 01-25-2009 07:23 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Removal of interior wall Bobb G Remodeling 4 09-15-2008 01:30 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.