Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2013, 09:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 446
Rewards Points: 6
Share |
Default

Stove hook up


I have not yet bought my stove, but I assume a 30 amp breaker with 8-3 is good to install to be ready?

crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 09:51 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,034
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Stove hook up


Most electric ranges require a 40 or 50 amp circuit (8/3 or 6/3 cable).

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-24-2013)
Old 11-25-2013, 06:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,236
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Stove hook up


Don't assume anything, wait until you buy the stove a follow the manufacturer's installation instructions and electrical requirements.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:05 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Stove hook up


yeah, pick your stove first. is it all electric? electric oven/gas cooktop? all this matters in sizing the circuit.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:19 AM   #5
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,396
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Stove hook up


You can look up the parameters for any of the models you are interested in on the web and save some shoe leather.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:27 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,236
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Stove hook up


Polecat you have a good point there but I would go with caution.

Suppose you look up the specs. for a certain model # and you prewire and the last minute you see one on sale a lot cheaper and go with the cheaper model.

The prewire does not meet the recommended requirements of the cheaper one. It probably will though when it comes to stoves. We're talking DIY here got to be careful.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:30 AM   #7
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,396
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Stove hook up


I have shot myself in the foot more than once that way. But I despise shopping so much I have learned to take my buyer's remorse pill like a man.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 11:18 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Stove hook up


If the wire with #6 and run 4 conductors they should be covered. The only trick is getting the receptacle in the correct spot.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric stove hook up Mallard1123 Electrical 12 10-22-2012 10:26 AM
Heat for a basement with Pellt Stove on Main Floor magnum44 HVAC 1 11-20-2011 08:55 AM
Do you have a Wood/Pellet Stove Insert with a Raised GRANITE Hearth? gmoom Remodeling 1 01-24-2011 04:54 PM
Small H2O line running up woodburing stove mibson HVAC 3 01-22-2011 09:14 PM
Coal Stove Hood Devil505 HVAC 1 12-06-2006 05:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.