Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 11:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

stove hood wiring


does the NEC require a kitchen stove hood be fed by a GFCI? there is no water or sink nearby

drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 12:42 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,285
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

stove hood wiring


By NEC, it says that you should feed an over the range hood off of a separate 15amp. Unless it is also servicing the feed for an over the range microwave, then it should be on a 20 amp sabc, non-gfci protected. It is your choice to decide if you want to do the range hood on a gfci. For me, I would to put that layer of extra protection, especially if you live in the South, where the flooring is tiled, and not path to ground.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 05:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

stove hood wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
By NEC, it says that you should feed an over the range hood off of a separate 15amp. Unless it is also servicing the feed for an over the range microwave, then it should be on a 20 amp sabc, non-gfci protected. It is your choice to decide if you want to do the range hood on a gfci. For me, I would to put that layer of extra protection, especially if you live in the South, where the flooring is tiled, and not path to ground.
thanks...

currently there is a gfci & the way it is powered is: a dedicated breaker in the panel is feeding a GFCI duplex outlet on the kitchen counter which is then feeding the hood. there is no microwave.

this was done by a licensed contractor and the inspector approved it..so has this been done in correctly?

the reason i asked the question is that the gfci trips when the hood light (a starter type fluorescent) is turned off (not on). when you turn the light on leave it on, there is no problem)
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 05:50 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

stove hood wiring


No, the hood does not need GFI protection, NOR should it be on the same circuit as a counter receptacle. If this was installed in recent years it is NOT complaint. That said, it is also not dangerous.
The fact that it is on the load side of the GFI is just worthless. A properly wired hood is just as safe protected by a GFI or not.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-26-2011)
Old 10-26-2011, 05:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

stove hood wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
No, the hood does not need GFI protection, NOR should it be on the same circuit as a counter receptacle. If this was installed in recent years it is NOT complaint. That said, it is also not dangerous.
The fact that it is on the load side of the GFI is just worthless. A properly wired hood is just as safe protected by a GFI or not.

thanks for the clarification..

but i have to wonder how this get approved by the inspector!
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 05:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

stove hood wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkjd View Post
thanks for the clarification..

but i have to wonder how this get approved by the inspector!
He was clueless.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-26-2011)
Old 10-26-2011, 06:02 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

stove hood wiring


Or this was a routine inspection and the guy just didn't look close. That is a violation you'd have to really look for.
I bet the wireman did it knowing it is not really a safety violation and that he'd get away with it no prob.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 06:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

stove hood wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Or this was a routine inspection and the guy just didn't look close. That is a violation you'd have to really look for.
I bet the wireman did it knowing it is not really a safety violation and that he'd get away with it no prob.
so if not a safety violation, the simplest solution for now is to move the hood feed to feed side of the outlet (from the load or protected side) to avoid the nuisance tripping.
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 07:23 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,285
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

stove hood wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkjd View Post
so if not a safety violation, the simplest solution for now is to move the hood feed to feed side of the outlet (from the load or protected side) to avoid the nuisance tripping.
It would only nuisance trip, if the motor in it, or the lights start causing problems. Just like any other device that would be plugged into a gfci, would do the same thing.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (10-26-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood opening is bigger than range hood jacks16 HVAC 2 06-23-2011 06:19 AM
Wiring Help, Changing a Dryer and/or Stove circuit to something else shunut Electrical 10 01-08-2011 03:06 PM
OTR Microwave -> Range hood wiring A for Effort Electrical 2 07-31-2010 10:00 AM
Stove Hood vent is 7", piping in place is 6" Karde HVAC 1 10-25-2009 06:46 PM
Stove top wiring teh3515 Electrical 2 04-03-2008 03:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.