Stove Electrical And Odd Wire? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2014, 10:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 99
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


Hi. I am remodelling my kitchen. When I pulled the stove out, I discovered the box out of the wall and only a few inches above the floor. There is a white wire running through the same hole as the stove electrical. The electrical box is in a room in the basement somewhat close to where these wires penetrate the floor. The white wire goes into the cabinets and runs to a location I have not yet discovered.

I plan on replacing the drywall behind the stove and behind the cabinets where the white wire runs so accessing the studs is not an issue.

Suggestions?

Thanks,
Mark
Attached Thumbnails
Stove electrical and odd wire?-image.jpg  

Advertisement

wwkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 11:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 1,531
Rewards Points: 1,224
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


I cannot read the post very well, the kwikset ad covers a part of it, and the picture needs to be at a better angle.

That white wire looks to me to be a standard household extension cord, A no-no in any outlet wiring. If that is the case, it needs to go. When you tear out the old wall you will probably find a hidden junction box too, (another no-no.),

Suggest that you do more searching in the wall to find the source and either eliminate it or wire it correctly.

ED

Advertisement

de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 12:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,703
Rewards Points: 2,366
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


Please supply a better picture ?

Closer view, so we can better see the cable.

Better lighting so we can see it clearly.

What size is the cable, I E what diameter ?

:whistling2
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 08:57 AM   #4
Electrican
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,094
Rewards Points: 1,532
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


A surface mount box is right for this if you want it on the floor. The other option is putting it in the wall via nail one box or old work box if you don't want to remove sheetrock.

Pics of the cable and outlet just to see whats up with that.

Thanks!
Jump-start is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 09:53 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,345
Rewards Points: 3,484
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


Since the drywall will be removed simply feed the cable through the studs like would normally be done in new construction.
The stove box can be mounted in the wall right at the floor level.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 07:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 99
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


I just got back to doing this renovation. I am including what I hope is a better picture. There is not a hidden junction box in the wall. Both the white wire and stove wire go straight to the breaker from what I can tell. The white wire is a fix I understand and will take care of shortly.

With the new kitchen cabinet positions, the closest edge of the stove will be 20 inches from the outlet. I tried pulling (gently) more of the stove cable through the floor but it doesn't move so I assume there is no slack. The basement is finished with drywall so I can't see what I have there.
Attached Thumbnails
Stove electrical and odd wire?-image.jpg  
wwkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 07:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 99
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


A closer look at the wires and outlet.
Attached Thumbnails
Stove electrical and odd wire?-image.jpg  
wwkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 10:08 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 1,531
Rewards Points: 1,224
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


I would get new wire for the stove circuit, and just rewire it to code , that way it is safer for myself and family.
Disconnect the wire at the breaker box, hook the new wire to the old wire, making sure that the connection is solid, and not much larger than the old wire.

Then go up to the outlet, pull the old wire up and out GENTLY, pulling the new with it, And give yourself all the slack you need. take the old off the new, and install a new outlet wherever convenient. re attach the new wiring to the breaker box. And dispose of that small white one, it is a spark waiting to happen.

What does that lampcord (small white one) power anyway?


ED
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 10:59 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 99
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


I was thinking of hooking the two wires together and pulling a new wire through but was concerned I might have them come apart but I think it is my best choice. The white wire powers the dishwasher.

Last edited by wwkayaker; 08-30-2014 at 11:07 PM.
wwkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 04:25 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 1,531
Rewards Points: 1,224
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


The dishwasher? That ain't safe at all. You need to get it on a circuit maybe shared with the microwave, or something else.

Lampcord is not rated for the draw that a dishwasher can pull.

So there is two that need repaired, maybe more.

ED
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 07:09 AM   #11
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 776
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


I think it's NM and he earlier stated its getting replaced,
clw1963 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 08:54 AM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


I do t even see any issues here? Except for the floating box for the range, if anything, I would change it out to a surface mount range receptacle... As for the DW circuit, as long as it is out of harms way, I see no violations here, but I would relocate it to the sink cabinet and make it a receptacle and install a cord on the dishwasher.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 09:44 AM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,345
Rewards Points: 3,484
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


The problem is the box is NOT behind the stove. If the breaker panel is in the direction you need to move the box then you should be able to pull the cable down and feed it back up in the proper place. Drywall is easy to patch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (08-31-2014)
Old 08-31-2014, 11:54 AM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The problem is the box is NOT behind the stove.
How did we come to this conclusion, Im missing this part?

Never mind, found it in post #6....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 12:52 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 99
Default

Stove electrical and odd wire?


There is a junction box behind the stove. Could I run a wire to this to power the dishwasher?

Advertisement

wwkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts