Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2008, 08:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Stobe light ground wire getting hot!


i have installed a strobe wire system in my car. the directions say to take the red wire and connect it to a switch and then to my car battery and take the black wire, ground it to the car's chassis. i have done that and it didnt work so i ran a black wire from my battery's negative side and connected it to the other side of the switch. now when the switch is in the on position everything is working fine. but when i switch it to of and the lights go out, the ground or negative wire gets hot. i know there is a way to make this work where i can transfer the energy coming from the battery while the strobes arent on....need help with this desperately dont want my car to catch fire

kaliyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 09:05 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,023
Default

Stobe light ground wire getting hot!


Sounds like you have a short, along with wrong gauge of wire. You need a fuse on the Positive side, and if you did not do it during the install, you are looking at a Firestarter.


Last edited by gregzoll; 08-21-2008 at 09:08 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 09:11 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Stobe light ground wire getting hot!


So you are saying you have the negative AND the positive connected to the switch???


I would keep a fire extinguisher handy if I were you.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 09:27 PM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Stobe light ground wire getting hot!


I love your answer Pete. You beat me to it.

Re-read the instructions. How many terminals on the switch?? If there are 2, then the load (your lights) should be on one term, and the battery (running through a proper size fuse) on the other. Re-read the instructions. If there are 3 terms, re-read the instructions. Some 3 term switches require a ground hookup to illuminate the bulb inside the switch itself, to show you the switch is on. Re-read the instructions.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.