Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2010, 08:03 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Steps to performing a service upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by JPraski View Post
Wow, you guys got it easy. The electric company around here doesn't do a lot of that. We usually hook the wires into the lateral, hot.
A friend of mine here did a service upgrade recently and he said that his electrician didn't have the power company cut power to the house. He said the guy literally just climbed up a fiberglass ladder with some heavy rubber gloves and clipped the lines to the house with some big shears. Once they had the new service installed he went back up the ladder and attached the power company's lines to the new service. Now obviously I would never do that but is that a typical practice for electricians?

jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 08:21 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Steps to performing a service upgrade


Been there, done that. Use rubber gloves now. But yeah, around here, that's how it's done, pretty much. I guess it just depends on the utility and the area.

And- don't do what Tigerloose said. He may be right in a specific circumstance, but he's not clear enough what that is. 10 gauge running your whole house, jumpered between service heads? Um, no.
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 08:36 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Steps to performing a service upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by JPraski View Post
10 gauge running your whole house, jumpered between service heads? Um, no.
Ya I thought that sounded kind of strange.
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 09:25 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Steps to performing a service upgrade


Yeah, I got an idea what he means, and I think he means just to test it out, but he worded it so vaguely (something I'm really good at myself) I felt it needed to be said. It may be a valid idea, but without the exact steps and what he hopes to accomplish from them, just say no.
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 04:13 PM   #20
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Steps to performing a service upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseyguy1996 View Post
A friend of mine here did a service upgrade recently and he said that his electrician didn't have the power company cut power to the house. He said the guy literally just climbed up a fiberglass ladder with some heavy rubber gloves and clipped the lines to the house with some big shears. Once they had the new service installed he went back up the ladder and attached the power company's lines to the new service. Now obviously I would never do that but is that a typical practice for electricians?
this is done all over and all of us electricians have done it. However it is all most universally ILLEGAL. not to mention dangerous for the uninhibited.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 01:28 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Steps to performing a service upgrade


Well after much soul searching I think I am just going to take Speedy Petey's advice and call an electrician. I think it would have been a fun project to try to tackle but there are just too many unknowns in terms of difficulties I may encounter along the way. On the flip side, I am still rewiring everything on the inside of the house myself and I guess I will have to be satisfied with the sense of accomplishment I will get from that.
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jerseyguy1996 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (12-31-2010)
Old 12-31-2010, 01:38 PM   #22
Member
 
Sfeyelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Steps to performing a service upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post
this is done all over and all of us electricians have done it. However it is all most universally ILLEGAL. not to mention dangerous for the uninhibited.
Here in Pittsburgh,Pa it is the way the power company wants it. They will still come out and do it for an arm and a leg!

Sfeyelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help planning service upgrade FremontJoe Electrical 2 12-07-2010 03:02 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
service upgrade needed ? 37victor3 Electrical 2 09-24-2010 10:51 PM
150amp to 200amp service upgrade... theatretch85 Electrical 30 07-06-2009 05:02 PM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 06:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.