Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-23-2013, 04:51 AM   #1
Electrical Contractor

Share |

State ELECTRICAL Lics PA ...

PA STATE LICENSING - HB1585
There is a House Bill 1585 being advanced through the PA General Assembly which is calling for the licensure of electrical contractors, journeymen electricians as well as apprentice electricians. The prime sponsor of the bill is John Taylor who represents Philadelphia County. Also co-signing the bill are assemblymen Neilson, Godshall, Killion, Youngblood, Micozzie, B. Boyle, Cruz, Cohen, Schlossberg, Brownlee, W. Keller, Clay, Gingrich, Carroll, Petri, Kortz and Caltagirone.

Let me make it clear that I am firmly in support of this legislation. This is not because I teach classes for a living but rather because it would require people to receive an education in the trade before they begin to install a system as important as the electrical system of a building anywhere in Pennsylvania. I receive many calls per year asking if I teach classes that teach the trade to an individual just starting out and I tell them all the same thing – apply to an apprenticeship school. Apprenticeship is taught in the immediate area at IBEW LU 98, Philadelphia; LU 380 Collegeville; LU 654 Chester; LU 269 Trenton and Eastern PA; LU 351 South Jersey and LU 313 in State of Delaware. If not able to get into one of those union training facilities there are other programs like ABC contractor group or one of the many local tech school. Tech schools like Bucks County Technical School, Middle Bucks, Upper Bucks, Eastern Montgomery and Delaware County Technical Schools just to name a few all offer daytime and evening programs.