Stapling Romex Question? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2009, 12:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stapling romex question?


I was wondering if its ok to staple romex wires on top of each other with one staple, assuming the staple is deep enough to not crimp the cable itself.

Advertisement

rovers1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 12:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Stapling romex question?


Yes. It's preferable because it keeps the cables closer to the center of the stud.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 12:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stapling romex question?


Thanks. That was my thinking, just wanted to confirm.
rovers1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 01:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Stapling romex question?


I don't think the insulated staples are intended for more than one cable.

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 01:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Stapling romex question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
I don't think the insulated staples are intended for more than one cable.

FW
Are insulated staples required?
rovers1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 02:20 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Stapling romex question?


You have to see what the staples are listed for, I use briscon, they are rated for two cables... but check with the manufacture.

Here is a good example....

http://www.brisconelectric.com/STAPLES.htm#UL

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stapling Romex gp_wa Electrical 14 01-12-2009 07:16 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 06:01 PM
"Common Path" limits for Romex -- Code question burro Electrical 4 08-10-2008 04:43 PM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 11:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts