Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2009, 08:09 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Share |
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD View Post
http://www.briggsandstratton.com/pdf...m-Domestic.pdf
If that didn't work, just Google "01918_0_om-Domestic.pdf".
If this rocker switch (item D in your first image) is a low current SPST or SPDT switch that commands the controller the problem gets easier.

Replace the rocker switch with a relay whose contact config. matches that of the rocker switch.
The two 3-way switches control the relay coil power and an indicating LED at each switch indicates if you're on Util or Gen power.
There is a ~20 mS power dropout when switching from one power to the other, so the relay coil runs on DC and a capacitor powers the coil during this transition.
You need a wall 'former that puts out DC to power the relay coil.

Switches, relay, 'former & misc. parts, less than $30 depending on where you buy them. Labor might be a day depending on your skill level.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 10-17-2009 at 10:21 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 08:17 PM   #17
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD View Post
According to the generator manual, the ď240V UtilityĒ leads deliver power to the generatorís circuit board, optional battery warmer and oil warmer. This power also charges the battery. When power on these leads is lost, the generator will start."
That pretty much eliminates my idea for using the transfer switch unless you had a 240 volt UPS you could hook to that line to signal the generator to shut down.
You are goung to need to tap into the generator control circuits and bring a line inside if you don't want to go outside.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 02:20 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


Looking at the drawing, I see an "over temperature" switch. If this shuts down the generator, then we can easily add another switch for you to use.
Check and see if it indeed does shut it down or just gives you a warning light. It shows it as NO. So you can jump it out to test.
I do not see the auto/off switch anywhere on the drawing!
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 07:04 PM   #19
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


There are several safety shutdowns(low oil, temperature, over speed) that could possibly be used to shut down the generator. All of them will require running a wire into the house to a switch. The only thing that needs to be verified is if the generator will restart without a reset on the control panel to clear the fault.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 06:49 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
There are several safety shutdowns(low oil, temperature, over speed) that could possibly be used to shut down the generator. All of them will require running a wire into the house to a switch. The only thing that needs to be verified is if the generator will restart without a reset on the control panel to clear the fault.
That's an interesting thought. There is an LED light that is supposed to be wired to the generator and placed inside the house. That light is used to indicate the various fault conditions by specific blinking patterns. I haven't bothered to wire that up yet, but it would be great if I could also use that to turn off the generator. However, according to the manual, "The operator must reset the fault detection system each time it activates", which is accomplished by turning the "auto/off" switch to "off" for at least 5 seconds! So, it looks like faking a fault would indeed turn the generator off, but then I'd have to go outdoors and go thru the usual routine to turn it back on.
Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 08:18 PM   #21
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


If you are going to go through the trouble of runing a cable to inside for an on/off switch it should just connect it to the auto/off switch. The main issue is running the wire and connecting the switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 08:53 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
If you are going to go through the trouble of runing a cable to inside for an on/off switch it should just connect it to the auto/off switch. The main issue is running the wire and connecting the switch.
OK, that sounds good. Any advice on how this should be wired? I've done a fair bit of wiring on my house/generator/transfer switch, but I haven't come across anything quite like this before. That is, if I keep the original auto/off switch, then it's not going to be a 3-way switch type of configuration. Thanks.
Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:02 AM   #23
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


I look at the drawings in the manual an could not find the actual auto/off switch on the drawing. You are going to need to open it up and see how the switch is wired.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:09 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD View Post
. That is, if I keep the original auto/off switch, then it's not going to be a 3-way switch type of configuration.
For both starting and stopping capability at both inside and outside locations you will need a 3 way switch setup.

With the existing switch plus a regular switch indoors, one of the following scenarios will be the case:
1. Both switches have to be set correctly for auto mode; either switch can turn it off, or
2. Both switches have to be set correctly for off; either switch will throw the generator into auto mode.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:28 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


What is your first choice for operations that you would like to do from either the house or the Gen?

What is your second choice, for lesser control from the house?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 02:16 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Standby generator on/off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
For both starting and stopping capability at both inside and outside locations you will need a 3 way switch setup.

With the existing switch plus a regular switch indoors, one of the following scenarios will be the case:
1. Both switches have to be set correctly for auto mode; either switch can turn it off, or
2. Both switches have to be set correctly for off; either switch will throw the generator into auto mode.
All they want is, to be able to shut it off, at night, when they do not need it.
Tell us what correctly is, and we can all call it a day.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Standby Generator & Transfer Switch JRoot Electrical 9 06-12-2011 09:14 AM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.