Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2009, 02:00 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Share |
Default

Standby generator connected via detached garage?


Removed By J.V.


Last edited by J. V.; 04-02-2009 at 11:22 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 03:51 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Standby generator connected via detached garage?


J.V. what you are proposing the way I understand it, is one set of wires between the detached garage subpanel and the main panel. With an interlock kit on the main panel with the garage subpanel and an interlock kit on the garage subpanel with the generator feed and the power feed from the main panel.

Is this correct?

With this scenario, you'd only be able to supply power to the garage subpanel from the generator. You would never be able to supply any power from the main panel to the garage because the interlock kit at the main panel would prevent you from turning the breaker to the sub panel on with the main breaker on. And like wise at the garage subpanel, you couldn't supply generator power to the house because in order to turn on the back fed breaker in the garage panel for the generator you'd have to turn off the main supply breaker to the house, preventing power from feeding back to the main panel, which means only the garage sub panel would have power from the generator.

The way I see it, two separate runs need to be made between the garage and the house. One for the subpanel power feed to the garage, and one for the generator feed to the house. One interlock kit on the main panel at the house on ONLY the generator breaker, which then you can pick the circuits to supply power to from the generator.

I could see where a second interlock kit could also work at the garage panel where you can split the output of the generator to both the main and subpanel, but you would still need two runs of cable between the house and garage.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:56 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Standby generator connected via detached garage?


Removed By J.V.

Last edited by J. V.; 04-02-2009 at 11:22 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 12:16 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Standby generator connected via detached garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
The interlock in the sub panel is optional. The reason I have one in mine is so I can run the generator loaded without turning power off in the main panel. Just for the basement. If the generator is needed for a real power outage I do not engage the sub panel interlock. I guess I was not clear on this. This is only for testing/exercising the generator under load. You are correct if the the interlock in the basement is engaged, I cannot feed the main panel. Sorry for any confusion. Thanks John.
So you just split the generator output into two panels with interlock kits on both the main and the sub with an additional circuit from the main feeding the sub. That does make a lot more sense, thanks for clarifying that John.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 10:31 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Standby generator connected via detached garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
So you just split the generator output into two panels with interlock kits on both the main and the sub with an additional circuit from the main feeding the sub. That does make a lot more sense, thanks for clarifying that John.
Removed By J.V.

Last edited by J. V.; 04-02-2009 at 11:23 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 10:45 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Standby generator connected via detached garage?


PM to the OP:

Dear Sir,
Please accept my apology regarding my comments regarding the use of two interlock kits on one main/sub panel system, with one sub panel feeder.
I found out I only have an interlock kit in the sub panel where the generator is connected. The main panel only has a main breaker lockout.
You can still do as proposed except you must find a way to make sure the main breaker in the main panel is off during generator use, or use the generator at the main.
Try and contact the interlock manufacturer for additional instructions.
While the lockout at the main service breaker serves the application, it will not be compliant as you would have to manually disconnect and lock the main each time you use the generator as I am doing.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 01:47 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Standby generator connected via detached garage?


In a series of PM's with JV, we determined it is acceptable to have two feeders between the house and a detached structure. See the Code section below:

(225.30)
(A) Special Conditions. Additional feeders or branch circuits
shall be permitted to supply the following:
(1) Fire pumps
(2) Emergency systems
(3) Legally required standby systems
(4) Optional standby systems
(5) Parallel power production systems
(6) Systems designed for connection to multiple sources of
supply for the purpose of enhanced reliability

So the generator feed could fall under "2" or "4" in this case, possibly "3" depending on what is consider "legally required" maybe in the case of life support equipment in the house.

This would really be the only safe and proper way to run a generator feed into the main panel at a detached structure that also has a power feed to it as well. JV's system still relies on human interaction to first remember to turn off the main, lock it out, and then kick on the generator. The interlock kit is designed such that you can't feed power from the generator unless the main is off. (and of course vice versa).
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 02:44 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Standby generator connected via detached garage?


J.V. -

no worries, and thanks for the clarification

All -

Many thanks for the great discussion and information!
I now have the information needed and options known.

Vince

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 01:46 PM
Detached garage setup - Switch loop setup jamiedolan Electrical 3 02-07-2009 12:08 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 12:17 PM
Grounding for detached all-metal garage geeswanie Electrical 3 07-03-2008 07:31 AM
detached garage Kapt Electrical 12 01-17-2007 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.