Standby Generator - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2013, 09:32 PM   #1
Handyman
 
brucem609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Standby generator


I am in the market for a generator for my house, not to do the whole house, but in case of a long outage. I am thinking this might be a bad winter in the northeast. I do not need it to take care of the whole house but I want it to run the fridge, freezer, router, TV, some lights.
I just have to get the wife and daughter to turn off what's not needed-right!
if I get a 5000watt generator is there a way to tie it back into the panel so it will run what I need?
I am a novice when it comes to electrical issues.
What do I have to do, but, install?
Any help is appreciated

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum

Advertisement

brucem609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Standby generator


I have a generator inlet connection near my breaker box - it's simply wired to a breaker added in the breaker box. A physical lockout mechanism is installed in the breaker box that only allows the added generator breaker to be ON if the main breaker is OFF. This precludes the generator from sending electricity back out over the power company wires - and is a must for safety of power company maintenance persons. And yes, you simply manage what you have turned on in the house so as to not exceed the generator capacity. To me this is the simplest and most flexible way to connect such a portable generator for occasional emergency use.

Another common way to connect a generator is via a transfer switch. The inlet connection is connected to the transfer switch, which has it's own circuit breakers and is wired in to take over (transfer) selected circuits on your breaker box.

Advertisement

__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:20 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,725
Rewards Points: 2,410
Default

Standby generator


We need to know more about your main panel ?
Is there room for a lock out ?
Are lock outs available for your brand of panel ?
And you will need an inlet ?
Can you post a picture of your main panel ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Standby generator on/off switch Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Electrical 27 12-14-2014 03:18 PM
standby generator installation cost newhomenj Electrical 54 12-26-2012 08:16 PM
Natural Gas Standby Generator - Multiple Questions wildbilll Plumbing 3 01-17-2012 06:46 PM
Standby Generator & Transfer Switch JRoot Electrical 9 06-12-2011 10:14 AM
HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running... PTighe Electrical 70 09-14-2009 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts