Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2012, 10:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Standard Circuit and AFCI?


Before the requirements of AFCI, if I was wiring a single circuit for a club room that was going to have 6 recepticals I would do the following:

I would wire between all 6 boxes with 14/2 (or 12/2 depending on the application) and I would have a feeder line back to the panel to a 15 amp breaker (or 20amp if it was 12/2). At each box I would tie black to black, white to white and ground to ground and pigtail them connected on the end (where all 3 wires were tied) with a wirenut (like the first picture below). In the panel, I would put the black wire on the breaker and the white and the ground were screwed in together into the neutral/ground bar (like in picture 2 below).

My question is this: Are there any issues using an AFCI breaker in this configuration? In other words, do I have to make any changes on the receptical end of my circuit if it is tied in like I described? Would I have make any changes to other circuits such as lighting circuits that have 3 way switches in them with 3 wire in the mix like in 3rd diagram below? Thanks!


I realize that in the breaker panel things change with a AFCI circuit.
This is my understanding of how it works with the AFCI circuit breaker. Basically the (white) neutral comes out of the neutral/ground bar where it was previously (the ground stays where it was). The feeder white and feeder black go to their designated screws on the AFCI breaker - then the pigtail coming out of of the AFCI breaker goes in the ground/neutral bar (I am assuming the feeder ground and neutral don't have to go in the same or seperate screw holes on the ground/neutral bar (it can be in the same or different scre holes on the bar?).


If I am missing anything, wrong in my assumptions or if anything needs changed / added/reconfigured please let me know.


Thanks in advance for your help!!









Last edited by tomatoguy; 02-18-2012 at 10:12 PM.
tomatoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:13 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Standard Circuit and AFCI?


No change at all at the receptacle side.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Standard Circuit and AFCI?


I am assuming I will need combination AFCI? Any special considerations or wiring for a GFCI in a bathroom? Thanks!
tomatoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:51 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Standard Circuit and AFCI?


Afci's are not require in baths, but no problem feeding a gfci from an afci circuit.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
rrolleston (02-19-2012)
Old 02-19-2012, 06:57 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

Standard Circuit and AFCI?


A combination AFCI does not mean it provides combined AFCI and GFCI protection. While there is a degree of GFCI protection inherent in AFCIs it is no where neare the required 5mA personnel protection of GFCIs. The combination type AFCI gets its designation by providing combined protection for both series and parallel type arc faults.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
rrolleston (02-19-2012), SD515 (02-19-2012)
Old 02-19-2012, 07:50 AM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Standard Circuit and AFCI?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tomatoguy View Post
The feeder white and feeder black go to their designated screws on the AFCI breaker - then the pigtail coming out of of the AFCI breaker goes in the ground/neutral bar
(I am assuming the feeder ground and neutral don't have to go in the same or seperate screw holes on the ground/neutral bar (it can be in the same or different scre holes on the bar?).
The neutral pigtail from the breaker goes into the neutral bar of the panel using it's own screw. Neutral connections to busbars in panels aren't to be shared with another conductor. Grounds can be doubled or tripled up if the bar is listed as such.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI circuit is tripping another AFCI nicholaspierce Electrical 8 10-27-2013 02:42 PM
AFCI Arc Fault Circuit Interruption Breaker TGMcCallie Electrical 5 11-28-2011 11:07 AM
AFCI circuit breaker bryan1282 Electrical 14 02-11-2010 06:06 PM
Strobe Lights + AFCI circuit = Bad Combo theatretch85 Electrical 7 06-09-2009 02:19 PM
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 07:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.