Stand Alone Outside Receptical - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2009, 03:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stand alone outside receptical


A quick question, does a stand alone outside waterproof outlet have to be supported in concrete, and if so, is there a minimum size. Also, do they have to be a certain height above the ground. The outlet will be 120V.

Thank you

Advertisement


Last edited by erlindbl; 02-16-2009 at 04:17 AM.
erlindbl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 07:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Stand alone outside receptical


Not necessarily. But the wiring needs to be protected. It can be on a conduit buried in the ground, or set in cement. But it must be a GFCI.

Advertisement

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 07:30 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Stand alone outside receptical


Your box will need to be supported other than with the conduit. like a 4X4 post.

As far as the height, although this isn't a rule, I would install it a little higher than your average snowfall. Around here I usually stay about 12" above the ground, even though we rarely get that much snow

You can also purchase a small yard post that's made out of 2" PVC in various colors, and used to mount light fixtures and receptacles.

RAB lighting calls the "mighty post" and I think Arlington makes a square post for a receptacle. Here's an example http://www.prolighting.com/rabmpmimipo1.html

Also, Don't forget to use an "in use" cover.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 01:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Stand alone outside receptical


I installed 2 circuits for my Christmas display
Both are in separate conduit, GFCI protected
Bushes have been planted to cover them
There is some concrete holding them in place
We had a lot of snowfall this year & they were covered for a while
I have the wet-use covers on these

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 09:39 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stand alone outside receptical


Excellent.... thank you all for the input......
erlindbl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 09:52 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Stand alone outside receptical


I would also suggest schedule 80 PVC conduit as opposed to schedule 40. Being in the yard will often subject the conduit to physical damage, and your inspector will very likely want to see schedule 80.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 07:35 PM   #7
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Methow Valley, WA
Posts: 793
Rewards Points: 542
Default

Stand alone outside receptical


Assuming one wanted to do two of these for outside tool use, say a buffer or portable shop lights, would they all be on separate circuits? What about amperage?

Advertisement

Mort is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use a 20amp outlet receptical on a 15amp circuit? abefroman Electrical 17 01-18-2009 10:57 PM
how dangers is an ungrounded receptical kenny357 Electrical 9 09-20-2007 10:18 PM
Breaker for Spot light and outlet receptical hgiljr Electrical 4 08-16-2007 02:10 PM
install new receptical? starnz Electrical 2 07-21-2006 03:34 PM
Useing 20A receptical in place of a 15a Doug Crf Electrical 7 04-28-2006 09:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts