Stackable Washer/dryer Voltage/breaker Question - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2011, 08:25 PM   #31
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Stackable washer/dryer voltage/breaker question


You are correct if that is the buss orientation. Two THQP 230's would work. We need a better picture.

Advertisement

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:04 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 2,400
Default

Stackable washer/dryer voltage/breaker question


So each pole measures 120v to neutral correct ?
How did you measure for 240v ?.
Did you measure across the two hots ?
If you did and you are getting nothing or close to it,
Then the two hots are probably coming from the same phase.
If so this will not work !
You need two different phases for 240v.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:18 PM   #33
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Stackable washer/dryer voltage/breaker question


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
So each pole measures 120v to neutral correct ?
How did you measure for 240v ?.
Did you measure across the two hots ?
If you did and you are getting nothing or close to it,
Then the two hots are probably coming from the same phase.
If so this will not work !
You need two different phases for 240v.
I think he was reading voltage at the receptacle inside the house. This of course would read the same as at the breaker because the breaker is not seated properly on both busses.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 08:23 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 299
Rewards Points: 278
Default

Stackable washer/dryer voltage/breaker question


take a bigger picture please, because I'm pretty sure you managed to engage that breaker to one of the locking tabs for that feed wire and that no breaker is meant to be there (at least not the one you managed to jam in).

what a mess.
jcrack_corn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jcrack_corn For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (08-12-2011)
Old 08-12-2011, 01:19 AM   #35
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Stackable washer/dryer voltage/breaker question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrack_corn View Post
take a bigger picture please, because I'm pretty sure you managed to engage that breaker to one of the locking tabs for that feed wire and that no breaker is meant to be there (at least not the one you managed to jam in).

what a mess.
Yeah, I think that may be true. At first I thought it was the first bus position, but the breaker is sitting differently from the rest, and looks like it extends past the midline of the panel. I'm not sure that's a bus position at all, and I'm pretty sure that breaker is not proper for that panel.

Advertisement

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 01:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 09:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 05:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
relocate washer/dryer krtw Remodeling 2 01-15-2006 03:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts