Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 04:01 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 167
Share |
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
Ok that's what I was trying to find out. Gonna disconnect it and put back the original outlet. Can you explain why this is unsafe? Thanks.

Also... Why am I calling the landlord now?
It's unsafe because it's not wired properly.

Call your landlord so he/she can get a proper outlet installed.

This will need new wiring as it will require 10-3 wire and not the 12-2 that is there now.
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:05 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
It's unsafe because it's not wired properly.

Call your landlord so he/she can get a proper outlet installed.

This will need new wiring as it will require 10-3 wire and not the 12-2 that is there now.
Well it had a regular outlet on it, they probably would just tell me no if I put in a repair request. They mentioned it had washer hook up when I moved here just didn't think too much into the dryer situation at the time.

Or are you saying it's wired wrong even for a standard outlet? The 2 switches are separate and not connected (if that is the difference between 2 pole and tandem), they can turn on/off separately.

Thanks.

Last edited by muphtrician; 12-03-2012 at 04:29 PM.
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:32 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 167
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
Well it had a regular outlet on it, they probably would just tell me no if I put in a repair request. They mentioned it had washer hook up when I moved here just didn't think too much into the dryer situation at the time.

Or are you saying it's wired wrong even for a standard outlet? The 2 switches are separate and not connected (if that is the difference between 2 pole and tandem), they can turn on/off separately.

Thanks.
A regular outlet is fine, but for the dryer outlet, it needs to have a 3rd wire for the heating element.

If you leave the dryer outlet there, it will not be wired correctly as it will not be grounded.

Also, if the apartment has a washer hookup, it should have a dryer hookup as well. Is it possibly a gas connection?

Last edited by sgip2000; 12-03-2012 at 04:35 PM.
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:44 PM   #19
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Ya you need to call the landlord and get a qualified electrician in there to fix it up right. Typically you would run a 10/3 cable to your dryer receptacle, would read 120v from line to neutral (either red or black to white) and 240 v live to line (red to black) and you will need a 2 pole 30 amp breaker not a tandem like you have now.
Attached Images
 
Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rochsolid For This Useful Post:
muphtrician (12-03-2012)
Old 12-03-2012, 04:54 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Cool thanks guys, I'm gonna call the landlord and see what I can do about this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
If you leave the dryer outlet there, it will not be wired correctly as it will not be grounded.
There is a solid copper wire, I'm assuming that is the ground. Just only 1 hot wire it seems.
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:17 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 167
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
Cool thanks guys, I'm gonna call the landlord and see what I can do about this.


There is a solid copper wire, I'm assuming that is the ground. Just only 1 hot wire it seems.
That receptacle you posted a photo of in your first post is not grounded.

The top slots are both "HOT" and the "L" slot is neutral.

A new installation would require a receptacle with four slots adding a ground.
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:37 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
That receptacle you posted a photo of in your first post is not grounded.

The top slots are both "HOT" and the "L" slot is neutral.

A new installation would require a receptacle with four slots adding a ground.
One that has 4 slots for connection on the back of the receptacle (same female connection on front)?
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:47 PM   #23
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 684
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


No, you would have to buy a new NEMA 14-30 cord for your dryer as well.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:51 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
No, you would have to buy a new NEMA 14-30 cord for your dryer as well.
Ok... I'm confused now. Why does my unit come stock with the other plug?
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:58 PM   #25
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
Ok... I'm confused now. Why does my unit come stock with the other plug?
It comes with that plug because dryers used to be wired with 3 wires.
If you had a house with an old 3 wire installed, you could use the current setup.
Since this will be a new installation, current code calls for a 4 wire set up.
The cord would have to be replaced to match the receptacle.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:08 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
It comes with that plug because dryers used to be wired with 3 wires.
If you had a house with an old 3 wire installed, you could use the current setup.
Since this will be a new installation, current code calls for a 4 wire set up.
The cord would have to be replaced to match the receptacle.
Actually, the house was built in the 40's and does have a 3 wire set up.
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:17 PM   #27
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
Actually, the house was built in the 40's and does have a 3 wire set up.
But, when you install a new circuit, it needs to meet todays code, so it needs to be 4 wire.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:21 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
But, when you install a new circuit, it needs to meet todays code, so it needs to be 4 wire.
Oh, I see.
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Dryer Question 3 to 4 wire John3rd Electrical 8 10-24-2011 05:54 PM
Moving Washer and Dryer upstairs from basement pennypoopie General DIY Discussions 3 08-23-2009 05:29 PM
Electric Dryer wiring/plug question SpaceCrawler Electrical 6 08-26-2008 04:33 PM
Pressure Washer Question DIYchick Tools 8 02-05-2008 05:44 PM
Moved Washer, Dryer and Laundry Tub chaz Plumbing 4 11-03-2007 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.