Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 12:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


I have a washer/dryer unit that uses a single NEMA 10-30R cord:
After upgrading the outlet (30a) I used a multimeter to test the power, it was only ~130-150, it is connected correctly. I checked the breaker, it only has 2x 20a breaker for this outlet, and the wire is only 12g ..

My main question is this.. The washer works (I assume it only uses 120v 15a?).. But the dryer won't even turn on. Is it safe to use the washer and NOT the dryer until I rewire the house or move somewhere else with accommodating outlet? Or does this raise safety concerns? What is the worst that would happen, tripped breaker? Or fire? Thanks for you help.

Also, if someone knows.. Is there an easier way to get my dryer working than rewiring the whole house? Alternate energy outlet (solar)? Power converter? Power inverter?.. Anything??

muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:31 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Nobody?

muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,291
Rewards Points: 580
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


No takers. You are off to a bad start using 12/2 to feed a 30 amp 240 volt receptacle.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:43 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


So it may trip the breaker?
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Seems to be working just fine.. Thanks for nothing I guess
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:40 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,873
Rewards Points: 2,142
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
Seems to be working just fine.. Thanks for nothing I guess
Did you do anything?
Did it just start working?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 266
Rewards Points: 194
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


130-150v is high for a single leg. Did you measure the voltage from the left and right slots or top to bottom? If wired correctly, it should still produce 240v, it will just max out at 20A.
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
I have a washer/dryer unit that uses a single NEMA 10-30R cord:
After upgrading the outlet (30a) I used a multimeter to test the power, it was only ~130-150, it is connected correctly. I checked the breaker, it only has 2x 20a breaker for this outlet, and the wire is only 12g ..

My main question is this.. The washer works (I assume it only uses 120v 15a?).. But the dryer won't even turn on. Is it safe to use the washer and NOT the dryer until I rewire the house or move somewhere else with accommodating outlet? Or does this raise safety concerns? What is the worst that would happen, tripped breaker? Or fire? Thanks for you help.

Also, if someone knows.. Is there an easier way to get my dryer working than rewiring the whole house? Alternate energy outlet (solar)? Power converter? Power inverter?.. Anything??
Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
Nobody?
Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
So it may trip the breaker?
Quote:
Originally Posted by muphtrician View Post
Seems to be working just fine.. Thanks for nothing I guess
muph,

You seem to be under the impression that this forum is an on-call consult the electrician site. Your followup to your original post was only 23 minutes after the OP. Your, rather grumpy, last post was exactly an hour and a half after your OP.

Many of the forum readers are actual, working, electricians or other professionals. They respond to postings on their own time, if they have any. It's not unusual for a post to go hours or even days before someone who feels qualified to respond does so.

In other words... Patience, Grasshopper.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:48 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Did you do anything?
Did it just start working?
Thanks for your response.. The washer section works (I'm assuming it only uses 120v 15a) but the dryer section does not (Know for fact it's 240v 30a).. Just wanted to make sure the only risk of running the washer is tripping the circuit and not a fire hazard. They both operate off a single NEMA 10-30R cord so I wasn't sure..

The outlet only supports up 20a and reads at ~140-150 with a multimeter, I already know to get the dryer working I'd need to switch the breaker to 30a and rewire with 10g (unless someone knows another fix).

Just wanna make sure the washer portion won't catch my house on fire more or less.. I'll deal with the dryer later

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave632 View Post
muph,

You seem to be under the impression that this forum is an on-call consult the electrician site. Your followup to your original post was only 23 minutes after the OP. Your, rather grumpy, last post was exactly an hour and a half after your OP.

In other words... Patience, Grasshopper.
You're right... Sorry, just have no clean clothes an the washer/dryer I just bought isn't going as planned. Just stressed sorry, I really do appreciate the help though!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
130-150v is high for a single leg. Did you measure the voltage from the left and right slots or top to bottom? If wired correctly, it should still produce 240v, it will just max out at 20A.
Thanks, yes I did. The right side is the only side showing power, when I touch <right - ground> or <right - left> it shows ~140-150.. <left - ground> shows 0. Perhaps the breaker is faulty? Even so, without switching it to a 30a and upgrading the wire too I don't think it would help. In the wall there were 3 wires, Black/White/Copper (ground) I connected the copper (ground) to the L socket and the White/Black to the other 2.

Last edited by muphtrician; 12-03-2012 at 01:57 PM.
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 02:11 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,873
Rewards Points: 2,142
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


What kind of receptacle was there before you upgraded?
Take a picture of the breaker panel and breaker in question.
Is this a rental?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 02:34 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
What kind of receptacle was there before you upgraded?
Take a picture of the breaker panel and breaker in question.
Is this a rental?

There was a standard home outlet 120v, yes it is a rental... So I'm not trying to do something I can't easily reverse when I move out. Here is the breaker in question:

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/tqn4k
(image wouldn't post, link will show it though)

It is the one second from the left on the bottom (9-10) 2x 20a switches.

There are 2 on top you can see that have no breaker but are wired with 10g wires and are 30a ready, I just have no idea what so ever where they lead to.

Thanks for your input.

Last edited by muphtrician; 12-03-2012 at 02:36 PM.
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 02:39 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,873
Rewards Points: 2,142
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


You need to disconnet your washer and call the landlord.
That is not a 2 pole breaker, but a tandem breaker.
You have a very unsafe setup now.
Doing electrical work in a rental is illegal in most areas.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 02:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 266
Rewards Points: 194
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You need to disconnet your washer and call the landlord.
That is not a 2 pole breaker, but a tandem breaker.
You have a very unsafe setup now.
Doing electrical work in a rental is illegal in most areas.
I agree.
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:35 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,873
Rewards Points: 2,142
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Guess they did not like my answer!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:51 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Stackable washer dryer power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You need to disconnet your washer and call the landlord.
That is not a 2 pole breaker, but a tandem breaker.
You have a very unsafe setup now.
Doing electrical work in a rental is illegal in most areas.
Ok that's what I was trying to find out. Gonna disconnect it and put back the original outlet. Can you explain why this is unsafe? Thanks.

Also... Why am I calling the landlord now?


Last edited by muphtrician; 12-03-2012 at 03:54 PM.
muphtrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Dryer Question 3 to 4 wire John3rd Electrical 8 10-24-2011 05:54 PM
Moving Washer and Dryer upstairs from basement pennypoopie General DIY Discussions 3 08-23-2009 05:29 PM
Electric Dryer wiring/plug question SpaceCrawler Electrical 6 08-26-2008 04:33 PM
Pressure Washer Question DIYchick Tools 8 02-05-2008 05:44 PM
Moved Washer, Dryer and Laundry Tub chaz Plumbing 4 11-03-2007 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.