Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2012, 04:48 AM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


Quote:
Originally Posted by erm1981 View Post
Since the sub panel is so close does a seperate ground need to feed it? It currently has one running to it but im wondering if that is needed anymore since im grounding the main service panel and its pretty much back to back with
If a metallic raceway is used, then no... If its cable or PVC, then yes, you still have to run an equipment ground.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 12:46 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
No bonding screw is needed, as others have pointed out the neutral is permanently bonded. Also:

1) The inside cover that separates the utility wires from the rest of the enclosure is not in the proper position.

2) The load lugs of the meter socket are missing. Where did you buy this from?
I had to go back to lowes today and they took out another Square - D panel out of the box and gave me the two socket lugs that were missing. (Im glad they were easy to work with or they would loose my business)

The inside cover was the same in this other panel so im thinking its in the right place.
erm1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 01:03 PM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


The cover is in the right place, but it needs to be slid down to the top of the conduit.
The screw then screws into the hole on the shield.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 01:51 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
The cover is in the right place, but it needs to be slid down to the top of the conduit.
The screw then screws into the hole on the shield.
OK that makes sense now.

I was wondering that if the meter gets switched over and the power company turns the power on can the neutral bar / wire shock me on my end if i flip the breaker to off? I was going to do this after power company had everything hooked up on their end. I will switch the meter from old service box to new one then the wires can be pulled inside to sub panel (already functioning). There is a current ground wire running from the subpanel inside the house that goes to a ground rod so I plan on using the same ground rod for my new meter panel since its so close. It appears that all the ground / neutral wires in the subpanel inside the house are on the same bar though and it was this way when i bought the house. Maybe that is why they have seperate ground ran for the subpanel?

thanks,
Evan
erm1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:18 PM   #20
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


The hot lugs above the main breaker will be energized and can shock you. The neutral won't. You will need to feed the subpanel in the house with 4 conductors and the neutrals and grounds must be isolated from each other. You may need to add a ground bus (terminal strip) to the sub panel to accomplish this. And remove the bonding jumper in the sub panel.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:56 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


OK. So I will get SCE&G to get their part done then switch power to off on main breaker, and re run wires back into the inside. After that my electrician and I can get all of our work done on our side. I was worried about tying into the neutral on my side after the meter is switched and power is on. It looked to be tied to the neutral bar the power company brought in so i was worried about it.

thanks,
Evan
erm1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:40 PM   #22
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


There is no problem connecting the neutral with the main breaker turned off.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:58 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


Quote:
Originally Posted by erm1981 View Post
I had to go back to lowes today and they took out another Square - D panel out of the box and gave me the two socket lugs that were missing. (Im glad they were easy to work with or they would loose my business)

The inside cover was the same in this other panel so im thinking its in the right place.
That inside cover MUST BE LOWERED to completely cover the un-metered, un-fused wires once they have been installed!! You will notice that there are (2) screw holes in it, one to keep the cover elevated to get the wires in, and the other to lock down the separation cover after the wires are installed.

As for Lowes selling you one missing vital parts, I'd be willing to bet that you ended up with one that someone else bought -- then stole the parts from -- then returned to the store for his money back.

I am always leery about anything that appears to have been opened and then resealed from home-horror stores like Lowes and big orange.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
jrclen (07-17-2012)
Old 07-17-2012, 09:31 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
That inside cover MUST BE LOWERED to completely cover the un-metered, un-fused wires once they have been installed!! You will notice that there are (2) screw holes in it, one to keep the cover elevated to get the wires in, and the other to lock down the separation cover after the wires are installed.

As for Lowes selling you one missing vital parts, I'd be willing to bet that you ended up with one that someone else bought -- then stole the parts from -- then returned to the store for his money back.

I am always leery about anything that appears to have been opened and then resealed from home-horror stores like Lowes and big orange.
I lowered the cover(and re-tightened screw) where its supposed to be and installed the missing meter socket lugs. Got a decent deal on some 2/0 copper wire to run to the inside. What is the minimum depth a ground rod has to be? Is it 8'?
erm1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:20 PM   #25
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


The ground rod needs 8' on contact with the soil and the top flush or below the surface.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:25 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Square D Homelite Main Panel - Ground / Neutral Bonding


thanks! I will let you guys know how it goes.

erm1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 10:58 PM
Main Electric Panel Help Redrum Ninja Electrical 13 10-22-2011 07:28 PM
Ground and Neutral in Panel bvbellomo Electrical 21 07-17-2010 09:53 AM
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.