Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 02:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

square d homeline breaker box


My main breaker only shuts down half of my box, and the neutral bar is hot. why?

leecorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 04:39 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,398
Default

square d homeline breaker box


How did you determine that only half the panel gets shut off? Were you having power issues before the main was shut off?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 06:08 PM   #3
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

square d homeline breaker box


A picture of your box would probably help as well.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 06:11 PM   #4
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

square d homeline breaker box


I'm guessing the lugs are mixed up. One of the hots is probably going to the neutral bar and the neutral going to one of the bus bars. Just a guess though. Rather dangerous situation if that's really what it is.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:32 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

square d homeline breaker box


Is the GEC missing or disconnected?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 12:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Default

square d homeline breaker box


... and define "hot". Thermally, like burn hot, or electrically hot?

emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 125A Square D HomeLine will not accept tandem breakers brons2 Electrical 3 11-01-2010 11:49 AM
Need help, breaker unstable Atroxx Electrical 16 08-08-2009 10:53 AM
Is the Square D Q0120GFI interchaneable with the HOM120GFI breaker? wideawake1 Electrical 8 07-11-2009 10:58 PM
Splicing Wires in Electrical Breaker Panel airdaleairdale Electrical 14 06-11-2009 07:20 AM
Breaker problem jdhar Electrical 11 06-10-2009 01:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.