Sq D Trillaint Breaker Problem - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2009, 09:08 AM   #1
Resident
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Sq D Trillaint Breaker problem


My house was built in 1993 and the electrician decided that using the new Sq D Trilliant Breaker box would be the way to go. I think he really did it because he was so darn cheap. My whole neighborhood has these boxes but I digress. Aside from the breakers being as scarce as hens teeth, they also seem to trip more often than any other breaker I have experienced and that brings me to my issue. About 3-4 months ago a breaker tripped and I tried to reset it but no matter what I did the breaker would not reset. There was no load on the circuit so I assumed that the breaker was bad. Fortunately I purchased an extra 15 amp breaker when I re-did the basement so I simply pulled the old breaker and put the new one in. Poof, everything worked fine. When I looked at the old breaker I flipped the tab and it reset but I did not re-install it thinking that there probably was still something wrong with it. Yesterday, my dryer 30 amp breaker tripped and now I can not reset it. I unplugged the dryer and shut down most of the breakers on the panel and it still won't reset. I am thinking that if I pull the breaker it will reset and will work when I put it back in. My question is: Has anyone had issues with these breakers ? I am thinking of having the whole box replaced.

Thanks in advance
JMR

Advertisement

jmreynol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 10:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,028
Rewards Points: 2,236
Default

Sq D Trillaint Breaker problem


I'd replace the panel. Yours hasn't been made since 1991 or so. I prefer the Squard D QO panel, but the Homeline is good too. And the breakers are readily available.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 06:54 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sq D Trillaint Breaker problem


It will be wise idea to just replace the whole panel due the breaker is pretty hard to find { I know they stop made them way back early 90's } so get a common SqD QO series or HOM series breakers with load centre they are far much more common with this set up.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 08:06 PM   #4
Resident
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sq D Trillaint Breaker problem


Just wanted to say thanks to those who responded. I changed the 30amp breaker and it is definitely broke. I am going to take everyone's advice and replace the whole setup. It will be cheaper in the long run.

Thanks
JMR
jmreynol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
trilliant


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tandem Breaker and Circuit(s) whowadat Electrical 1 01-09-2009 05:13 AM
Neutral problem, not sure what to do now BataviaJim Electrical 37 01-03-2009 12:00 PM
Older breaker box problem (pics enclosed) bobz Electrical 11 12-21-2008 06:18 PM
Holy smoking commander breaker drogosandybanks Electrical 13 01-10-2007 03:34 PM
GFCI breaker problems bwoo Electrical 5 12-09-2006 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts