Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2012, 01:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


Need a little advice... Here's the scenario:

-200 amp meter/main.
-2 small side by side residences with 80 amp load each.
-Each residence has a 200 amp panel with main disconnect.
-1 3" conduit from meter to underground pull box between both buildings
-A 2" conduit from the pull box to each building.
-All conductors to be 3/0

Is there any reason why a 3/0 feeder with ground could not be pulled to the
pull box and then split to run to each building instead of running 2 separate 100 amp feeders? Any other things to consider?

Mobetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 03:50 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


As long as the pull box is large enough to splice all twelve wires together And all splices are rated for direct burial. You should be ok. It may be easier to exit the ground and go into a disconnect.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:53 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


Quote:
Is there any reason why a 3/0 feeder with ground could not be pulled to the
pull box and then split to run to each building instead of running 2 separate 100 amp feeders? Any other things to consider?
I'm not sure what you are asking. Are you asking if you can refeed the two existing buildings with 2 100A feeders? Or are you asking if you can install a 3rd feeder to two new loads?

You can't refeed the old panels with smaller wire unless you install a smaller main breaker at the panels.

You can't pull a 3rd 200A 3/o feeder thru the 3" PVC as 8 3/0's is max in a 3" (schedule 80) PVC.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:59 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,152
Rewards Points: 660
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


I think he is asking if he can splice in the underground box.

Last edited by zappa; 05-03-2012 at 07:19 AM. Reason: spelling
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 07:06 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


edit...missed the meter/main
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 07:09 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


Are both residences fed from their own breaker in the meter/main?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:12 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


you have a 200A meter. your pulling wire for a 200A service to both buildings and installing a 200A panel. You can't run(even though you don't need it) a 400A in essence service off a 200A meter. You can pull the larger wire for future use but your panels have to be 100A panels or you can put in the 200A panels and fuse your disconnects at 100A. According to the nec you can run two feeds straight from the meter if you use code complaint method of hook up and both structures are part of a single family dwelling only. I've done joints in a wet location on 3/0 before and the lugs are costly. Keep in mind they were only for wet location. To be totally honest i wouldn't want to pay for a underground box big enough to handle 3 3/0 split lugs and whatever you do for the ground. Your going to have a hassle if something goes wrong. Best option(and probably cheaper) would be to go to house A, install a splitter then go to house B from there. It's not a case of just hopping down to the local big box store and picking up some wirenuts.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:32 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


You may want to check with your local POCO.

I have never dealt with this exact situation, but something doesn't seem right about feeding two separate residences from the same service.

If they were connected to each other, it would be a completely different story.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:24 AM   #9
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


Who pays the electric bill? One meter and 2 residences
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 10:15 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


Both units will remain under one ownership.
One meter will feed both units.
The conductors are on the customer side so POCO is not involved.

The question is whether there is anything in the NEC that should be
taken into account when combining the load on one feeder and then
splitting the feeder to feed both residences. Figure the 3/0 is big
enough to handle the load.
Mobetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 11:55 AM   #11
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


Is there a main breaker between the meter and these panels?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 12:05 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


Are there two separate addresses for these residences?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:38 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


lol i'm not going to sugar coat it. It's a shady way to do it. Kind of like "grow op" shady. If it was two seperate residences I would assume the inspector is going to want to see two meter bases. If it's one residence two building then he'll likely want to see it go to one residence and the second fed as a subpanel.

If you've somehow found a way or are attempting to do this without an inspection then refer to the "grow op" part of my post.

3/0 copper is big enough for a 400A service, which means absolutely nothing combined with the fact your meter base is only rated for 200A. Nothing ads up here. How did you plan on splitting the feed. Did you take into account how massive a box you would need for that, and that's if it's even legal to do in the first place.

The right way in my mind to do it would be to go into the first residence and install one of two things, A 200A panel and feed the second 100A panel from there. Or a 200A splitter and take the feeds to each individual panel from that point.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.

Last edited by andrew79; 05-03-2012 at 06:45 PM.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:50 PM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


According to my code book, 3/0 is only rated for (max) 225A.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 07:54 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Splitting a feeder for two structures


Seems there is no problem with splitting the feeder. The code only
requires the feeder to be big enough to handle the load and the
conductors are protected a the point of supply. I agree this is not
the normal way to feed a couple residences but in this situation it
will work out just perfect. Thanks for the input!

Mobetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Feeder Question Believer Electrical 0 06-09-2011 07:53 PM
Theres some bare feeder before main breaker pcampbell Electrical 4 01-13-2009 04:51 PM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 11:33 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.