Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2010, 03:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Splitting Coaxial


I have cable coaxial coming into the house that is a mess. In an attempt to clean up the wires and signal, I am removing old sat and cable lines. Now there is a 1 into 4 splitter to 4 TVs, two in east wing and two in the west wing. When I redo this mess, should I split it with a 1 into 4 right when it comes into the basement? Or use a 1 to 2, with one line going to each wing then splitting it again with a 1 into 2 in each end of the house? Does it matter? I'm looking for the best signal. so, 1 to 4 or 3 1 to 2s? Thanks

likerock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 03:30 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

Splitting Coaxial


Signal lose through a splitter is around 3db, so unless the run is long, one splitter will drop the least amount of signal.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:54 AM   #3
Do work
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ, USA, Earth
Posts: 144
Default

Splitting Coaxial


Well I would prefer to see one splitter instead of 2. Easier to troubleshoot later. But the signal loss should be the same. If you look at the splitter it should say the db loss.

When you have a 2 way splitter the signal loss will be 3.5 db on both sides. A 3 way splitter will give you 3.5 on one leg and 7 db on the other 2 legs. A 4 way splitter will give you 7 db on all 4 legs.
liquidvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 08:23 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Default

Splitting Coaxial


I have always been a little fuzzy on this stuff, but I understand that active (amplified, powered, etc) splitters may avoid some of these losses. You may want to consider this option. While I don't doubt they may introduce noise into the signal, the move from analog to digital may make this a non-issue. I have three splitters, all powered, sending signals to 11 TVs throughout the house. I am satisfied with the picture quality.

I am on basic cable. It is still mostly analog, but includes local HD stations. All channels come through to all TVs without any degredation in picture quality that I can notice.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splitting an existing circuit run JoeyBradshaw Electrical 1 09-24-2010 08:02 PM
hardwood tongue is splitting with nailer atomilano Carpentry 10 05-04-2009 08:05 AM
Coaxial Cable blew tv, computer etc... ozflow Electrical 4 10-13-2008 07:06 PM
coaxial splitting question jelly Electrical 7 05-28-2008 09:54 PM
New coaxial outlet location shimkc Home Theater 1 01-03-2008 09:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.