Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2011, 03:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


I have a 14-3 wire and I tied 2 14-2 wires into it by spicing one of the 14-2s black to the 14-3s black and the other 14-2s black to the 14-3s red then spliced all the whites together, as well as all the grounds together. The 2 14-2's run to outlets. Everything worked fine. I then tried to run another 14-2 off one of the outlets to add a 3rd outlet. I now have the power back on and the Red wire coming off the 14-3 is no longer hot, any idea why this happen??

jsweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 03:58 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


Did you use a 2 pole breaker, or 2 sigle pole breakers with a handle tie.
Sounds like maybe the breaker for the red wire is off and did not reset.
That happens a lot with handle ties.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:00 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


How did you connect the 14-3 in the breaker panel?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:01 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


I believe it is a 2 pole breaker. None of the breakers are off or tripped.
jsweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:04 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
How did you connect the 14-3 in the breaker panel?
I do not know exactly how it is connected, it is original wiring from the house. (A quick background, a while ago we removed a wall between 2 rooms were the 14-3 was coming down it has been sitting in the attic since, I am now replacing the wall and using the original 14-3, it is on a single breaker)
jsweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:08 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


First you said a 2 pole breaker, then you say a single breaker. Need more detail, how is the 14-3 connected in the panel?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:15 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


How do you even know the 14-3 is part of a MWBC ?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:23 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


Did one of the connections fall apart?

Maybe a wire broke inside the insulation and therefore you could not see the broken connection.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:33 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


Hey guys, my apologies, im a little new to the electrical world, i read books and google things to find my answers, but this one i can not figure out. A single breaker turned off power to both the red and black hot wires. When I ran 2 14-2 off the 14-3 and the 2 outlets connected to the 14-2 wires worked fine. The problem rose when I ran a 3 outlet of one of the other outlets, now my red wire is no longer hot. I checked all the GFI's throughout the house and none are tripped, I have also made sure that all the breakers are on, visually and by turing them all off and back on.
jsweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:40 PM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


I think you are over your head. If a single breaker turned off power on both the black and red conductors, then that circuit is wired wrong. Unless you mean a 2 pole breaker, then you are dealing with a MWBC (multi wire branch circuit). If you are not familiar with a MWBC you should get an electrician involved.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:47 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I think you are over your head. If a single breaker turned off power on both the black and red conductors, then that circuit is wired wrong. Unless you mean a 2 pole breaker, then you are dealing with a MWBC (multi wire branch circuit). If you are not familiar with a MWBC you should get an electrician involved.
The wiring hasn't been touch since the original builder, and it passed inspection so I am doubting it is wired wrong, meaning it must be a 2 pole breaker. A MWBC simply put is hot wires sharing a neutral right? How could 1 hot wire not be getting power and the other be getting power on a 2 pole breaker? Any ideas?
jsweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:47 PM   #12
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


What you described _should_ have worked, so there's a problem somewhere. I don't see why GFCI's elsewhere in the house would have any effect, but hey, if you just tested them that's a good thing. :-)

On the breaker front, can you clarify the connection of the 3 wire? Presumably the Red wire is under one screw and the Black under another screw, and the two screws are right next to each other, yes? And the two screws are attached to breakers that have their handles tied together? That is, it's not possible to turn one off w/out turning the other off, right?

If the change you made was downstream of the 3-wire than the only thing that makes sense is a breaker issue. Sure, something could have come loose under a nut for the red wire, but you weren't messing with that wire at all, right? Your changes were on the other side of the 14-2?

You had:
Code:

Breaker ------3 wire ---- Junction ---- 2 wire ---- Plug
                              +---------2 wire ---- Different Plug
You changed it to:
Breaker ------3 wire ---- Junction ---- 2 wire ---- Plug ---- New Plug
                              +---------2 wire ---- Different Plug
Yes?
WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WaldenL For This Useful Post:
jsweeney (01-04-2011)
Old 01-04-2011, 04:57 PM   #13
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


Why don't you just identify the breaker controlling the circuit and stop all of us from guessing. Either it is a 2 pole or it isn't. And just because it passed inspection does not mean it was ever wire correctly. Stranger things have happened.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 05:20 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


Thanks walden, yes your code is exactly what is was doing

But sorry i made a mistake it is 2 single pole not a 2 pole circuit
jsweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 05:23 PM   #15
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Splitting a 14-3 wire


OK, then I really think something is wonky on the breaker front. Photos help a lot. Can you snap a few w/the cover off?

WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fanimation ceiling fan question: no blue wire from ceiling camrn2006 Electrical 8 03-07-2010 12:19 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 09:16 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.