Split Bus Panel. Should I Rip It Out? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2011, 05:08 PM   #1
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10

Split bus panel. Should I rip it out?

My home was built in 1978. I have a Gould 150A split bus panel. The first 4 breakers are double size and do:
Electric Range, Central AC
70A "main", Electric Dryer

The rest are the mini breakers (2 small's in the size of 1), except for 1 GFI breaker that goes to an electrical outlet in each bathroom (2 of them).

I was always perplexed as to where the heck was the main? I've replaced outlets and switches in rooms from the 1970's brown to a more modern white. Whenever I shut of the power, I always have to double check.

So do you think it's worth ripping out this 1978 split bus panel and put in a regular 200A panel with normal sized breakers? I don't have any non-living space that could be renovated, so 150A service works fine. But whos to say 10 years down the road we don't install a hot tub or something like that?

Anyway just really need to know if it's a hazard or code violation. The home inspector didn't bring it up. The only thing he said about it was that the GFI breaker was old and he'd rather see a regular breaker with a GFCI outlet in the bathroom. Well I put a GFCI outlet in the bathroom because I wanted all white outlets and switches so it looks nice. I also change the 1978 outlets from back stabbed connections to using the screw terminals on the newer stuff.


Last edited by cypherx; 09-29-2011 at 05:10 PM.
cypherx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 06:13 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,236
Rewards Points: 626

The double pole breakers at the top together act as the main. You are allowed up to 6 throws of the hand to shut off the power.


Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 07:51 PM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 367
Rewards Points: 266

As long as the panel is not deteriorated (rust/corrosion) or broken or missing parts, I'd probably leave it and upgrade when or if you need it.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 09:30 PM   #4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652

If wanting to expand, keep the split and add a appropiate sized sub for whatever you are doing.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Moving several circuits to sub panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 2 09-27-2008 02:05 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1