Splicing In A Subpanel Using Lines That Feed Main Breakers? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2010, 04:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

splicing in a subpanel using lines that feed main breakers?


hi, I am new to this forum and hope I can get some professional electrician's input on this.

I lived a condo with attached garage, the meter is located on the outside of my garage, but the main breaker is located on 2nd floor of my condo.

I am planning to get a electric vehicle so I need a 240V, 40A service in the garage. The "straight forward" way of course is to get it from the main breaker @ 2nd floor and feed the wire to the garage, but that means a lot of drilling and dry-wall removing so I am exploring alternative.

per my title, is it possible to splicing in a subpanel (essentially turning it into my main breaker by definition?) is it against code? Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

lettcco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:52 AM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

splicing in a subpanel using lines that feed main breakers?


Essentially you would be adding a new service disconnect between the meter and your current breaker panel, not a sub panel. A sub-panel would be installed after your current main panel. A new service panel would turn your current panel into a sub-panel. The short answer is yes, it can be done. That is if your condo association and your local jurisdiction allows it. This is not a project for any inexperienced DIYer. I would contact an electrician and have them review your idea, along with your condo assoc. Also in most areas a permit would be required for this type of work.

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:21 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,338
Rewards Points: 3,470
Blog Entries: 4
Default

splicing in a subpanel using lines that feed main breakers?


You might be able to get a double lug meter pan and then instal a second main panel in your garage by double tapping the meter.
If you move the main disconnect to the garage your current panel will become a sub panel. It will need a four wire feed to the existing panel and all the grounds and neutral will need to be separated.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 11:46 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

splicing in a subpanel using lines that feed main breakers?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You might be able to get a double lug meter pan and then instal a second main panel in your garage by double tapping the meter.
This is by far the best way to accomplish this task.
However, they sell double lug adapters for this specific purpose.
Keep in mind the extended new service to the garage cannot pass through the existing dwelling (house) or any other structure.

The lugs simply attach to the existing meter lugs and allow the addition of another cable. You are merely extending the service. You will not be required to install a disconnect or OCPD. (breaker or fuses) for the service. You will need to involve the power company and your local inspection entity to ensure compliant installation.

I would hire a professional for a job like this as there is so much more involved than extending the service.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:44 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,338
Rewards Points: 3,470
Blog Entries: 4
Default

splicing in a subpanel using lines that feed main breakers?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
You will not be required to install a disconnect or OCPD. (breaker or fuses) for the service.

Please explain. Do you mean at the meter. Certainly a disconnect(main panel with proper breaker) is required.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 01:59 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

splicing in a subpanel using lines that feed main breakers?


JV is responding to your post suggesting a second main panel which would have a main breaker. This is how I did my garage a few years ago. The inspector said I could connect a second 2-2-4 AL to the meter and feed a main panel. The garage then is just like the house, two grounding electrodes and a common or connected neutral and ground bar in the panel.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 11:07 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

splicing in a subpanel using lines that feed main breakers?


thank you all for the responses. I have no intention of doing this myself, just want to get informed first so that I can better communicate with my electrician. Thanks!
lettcco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 09:16 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

splicing in a subpanel using lines that feed main breakers?


If the meter was double tapped the services would then need to be grouped. This adds its own complications.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emergency power backup via power inverter upabove Electrical 14 06-09-2010 12:18 AM
adding the neutral from Main to subpanel russellm Electrical 21 04-05-2010 11:33 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Splice box/s between subpanel and main panel? SeanR Electrical 5 05-06-2007 03:21 PM
Add subpanel or upgrade main panel dcoz Electrical 1 01-12-2006 10:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts