Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2011, 11:43 AM   #1
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,940
Share |
Default

Splicing sub-panel feeder cable.


I am installing a sub-panel in my attached garage. I am using a GE 100 amp main breaker panel as the sub. I will use a 60 amp breaker in my 200 main to feed this sub.

I can get a deal on SER 4-4-4-6 Aluminum for less than a dollar a foot that I would like to use as the feeder. The only hook is is in 50 foot coils and I need about 85 feet.

Is there any problem installing a junction box in my attic and splicing to get the length I need? I have looked at my NEC 2008 and can not find any prohibition. The JB would be accessible.

Assuming it is OK, what is the best method to make this splice?

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 01:31 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 698
Default

Splicing sub-panel feeder cable.


The JB would be accessible. That's the only kicker, get a good sized pvc box, some split bolts and rubber/friction tape, regular electrical tape and go to town

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
rjniles (04-26-2011)
Old 04-26-2011, 03:16 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,408
Default

Splicing sub-panel feeder cable.


Pre-insulated Polaris connectors are expensive, but are easier than split bolts.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
rjniles (04-26-2011)
Old 04-26-2011, 04:07 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,940
Default

Splicing sub-panel feeder cable.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Pre-insulated Polaris connectors are expensive, but are easier than split bolts.
Thanks for the replies.

Jim P, the Polaris connectors are $12+ each vs $5 for a pair of split bolts plus some DR(rubber) tape. Do you really think for that for the 4 connections I will have to make that they are worth the expense. Plus I will have to order them on line and pay shipping as none of the supply houses in my area carry them.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 06:00 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,408
Default

Splicing sub-panel feeder cable.


The Polaris are a labor saver for sure. Strip the conductor and insert into the connector and tighten to proper torque.

With the split bolts you still strip the connectors and then tighten the nut. Now you spend considerable time wrapping rubber tape around an irregular shape with sharp edges until fully covered. After all that then you add a couple of layers of plastic tape. And don't even think about needing to strip off the tape if you need to remake a connection.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 06:20 AM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,940
Default

Splicing sub-panel feeder cable.


Got lucky on this one. Went to pick up the cable yesterday and the guy asks, "Would you like to have 100 feet instead of 2 50's?" No brainer here and I am out the door with 100 feet of SER AL 4-4-4-6 for $80. This was an electrical contractor retiring and was selling off his stock. The cable had a fair amount of dust on it but it blew off on the way home.

So, no splice in the attic. Thanks to all who responded with advice.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel? rodm1 Electrical 16 01-14-2011 04:02 PM
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 08:21 PM
Grounding a mess! CapnSteubing Electrical 13 08-31-2009 10:07 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.