Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2010, 08:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Splicing into 14-3 for smoke detector


I live in a 6 year old house and want to add a gable attic fan. I can't get a 14-2 line to the panel box for a dedicated circuit. My question is, my smoke detectors (5 of them) are on a dedicated 15amp breaker. I can get the 14-2 in one of the smoke detector's with two 14-3's in it. Would I just hook up black to black and white to white? Since the red is more than likely the traveler.


Any input and/or suggestions would be great.

donaldbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 08:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing into 14-3 for smoke detector


Where are you located ?

Are smokes required to be on a dedicated circuit where you are ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 09:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing into 14-3 for smoke detector


Virginia. Not Sure on code, everything that I have found just says that need to be hard-wired and battery backup

Last edited by donaldbc; 07-09-2010 at 09:06 PM.
donaldbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 05:58 PM   #4
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing into 14-3 for smoke detector


Don,
I'm not an electrician, but I did spend 25 years in the fire service, (and I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express once). Even though it would probably work, I would try and tie into something else besides the smoke detectors. Even with a battery backup, I wouldn't want to chance the attic fan tripping a breaker and leaving you just on the batteries. Smoke detectors are cheap insurance and will buy you a little time to get out of the house if something happens. You want to give them the best shot at working. People forget to change batteries, especially when they are hard wired, so you could end up with just enough juice in them to keep them from chirping, and then if needed, would die out quickly. Just my .02, better to be safe.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 07:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing into 14-3 for smoke detector


I agree attic fan and smoke detector on the same circut sounds like a bad idea.

not an electrician, firemen or frequent Holiday Inn Express customer, but....

Just a wild guess here, but I bet attic fans are fairly high up in the list for causes for electrical fires. They operate in a hot environment, no drywall to act as a fire barrier, they often get wet, they often have rodent encounters and they are "out of sight / out of mind".

Last edited by forresth; 07-10-2010 at 07:24 PM.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smoke detector in garage? BlueBSH Electrical 6 03-18-2010 02:57 PM
motion detector wiring (alarm systems) WendyS Electrical 3 02-25-2010 10:39 PM
Adding a smoke detector Tinkerer Electrical 6 12-08-2009 12:27 PM
Motion Detector For Compact Florescent Bulbs Jazan Electrical 2 10-20-2009 09:12 PM
Smoke Detector Locations MikeinBurien Electrical 8 12-14-2005 10:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.