Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2011, 02:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

splicing aluminum to copper


I am using 2/0 aluminum to feed a barn. the 2/0 will not fit in the 100 amp breaker without cutting off 2-3 strands. what options do i have . I want this to be safe and be done correctly. Thanks

Jxl062643 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 02:20 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,687
Default

splicing aluminum to copper


http://www.polarisconnectors.com/black.html
Use the IT series.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 02:23 PM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,533
Default

splicing aluminum to copper


You need to determine what the max size wire the breaker will accept... it should be on the side of the breaker. There is no need to switch to copper. You can use split-bolts or splice block (both will require taping WELL), or a Polaris connector. http://www.polarisconnectors.com/pdfs/NSi/IT_series.pdf
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 03:07 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Default

splicing aluminum to copper


Thanks guys, If this was tapped good would it be ok to make the splice in the panel.
Jxl062643 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 03:11 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,687
Default

splicing aluminum to copper


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jxl062643 View Post
Thanks guys, If this was tapped good would it be ok to make the splice in the panel.
Yes. I would use the polaris, a little pricey, but taping not required.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 09:44 PM   #6
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,060
Blog Entries: 7
Default

splicing aluminum to copper


Let me add my 2 cents on this. I know what you're talking about with 2/0 not fitting the lugs for a 100A panel, I had to splice extra length into my feeder cable because of inspection issues leading me to have to route through conduit and move the panel such that the 1/0 feeder I had in place not fitting. I had 2/0 SE cable on hand which I had considered using, but I found that 1/0 was the largest that fit into the lugs.

So at any rate, I was between jobs so I needed to do this as low cost as possible. I did my splice with more 1/0 cable, but the same info would apply - I bought split-nut connectors at about $4 ea whereas I think the polaris connectors would've been $15. Multiply by 3 (I had a long enough ground conductor) and the difference seemed substantial.

What I had not taken into account was the taping. Rubber tape cost me $9 for a 10' roll and it took 2 rolls.

If you need to tape, 3M has a video of the taping procedure on youtube, search for split nut taping.

At any rate, my point is that the cost savings of split-nut connectors is still there, but probably not as much as it seems if you only look at the split nut vs polaris connector cost. And maybe others can comment as to the size of the mass of tape that you might be able to avoid having to fit into your panel vs. the presumably smaller polaris connector?
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to WillK For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (06-23-2011), jbfan (06-23-2011)
Old 06-23-2011, 10:25 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

splicing aluminum to copper


I can use the split bolt but really it will really eat up your time and somehow it will look like big blob of black tape ball { it can really take up alot of room espcally if you have 55mm˛ or larger cable ( 1/0AWG) }

I go thru alot of tape when I use the split bolt typically 1 to 4 rolls depending on size and voltage and how it connected { just leave very high voltage stuff out of this one I been there and done that so just don't ventre there it will knock your feet off if I comment on that }

And it will take a bit of time with tape compared to Polairs connector it will cut the time more than half of the time and leave the area cleaner.

I can justify the cost of polairs connectors due the amount of time I have to work on alot of conductors for me it save labour time.

I know Polairs connectors are not cheap but it worth it in long run.

You should see how we do very large conductor which they are more than twice larger than what you have the last one I just got done earlier this eveing that was a 240mm˛ { that is 500 KCM cable }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:59 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

splicing aluminum to copper


This is only an example of what you could use. They make similar adapters that will accept the 2/0 conductor.
The one in the picture is what it looks like. This one is designed to allow a larger conductor to be connected to a buss bar. It would not be listed for your application. Just a picture you can take with you while searching for the correct one.
Attached Images
 

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splicing Aluminum to Copper Wire dc4nomore Electrical 28 05-08-2012 01:56 PM
How to Rewire aluminum to copper wall outlet. deepseathomas Electrical 1 10-20-2010 02:11 PM
Pool Panel: Aluminum vs. Copper bcobb Electrical 18 09-16-2010 01:00 PM
Copper vs. Aluminum frame velux skylights? spup345 Building & Construction 1 09-13-2010 02:09 PM
Converting Aluminum Wiring to Copper ... njchan Electrical 4 03-14-2010 07:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.