Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2011, 02:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Splicing Aluminum Cable


I have to run three 220-foot lengths of #1 aluminum cable through electrical conduit underground. I will need to order and buy a five hundred foot spool, as the local dealer does not stock this wire. He will have to order a full spool and he will not sell just the length I need. That means I would end up with two 220-foot lengths and have a shorter 160-foot piece left. I have sevearl lengths about 30 foot each aleady. Can I splice the 160 piece with another piece to make up the 220 foot and use it with the other two in the conduit? What kind of splicer would I need to use? Is there a possibility it may separate under ground and cause problems later?

DAlnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 02:27 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,792
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Splicing Aluminum Cable


You can splice the wire, but you can not splice it inside the conduit.
It must be spliced inside a junction box of the right size.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 03:22 PM   #3
Member
 
iminaquagmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 370
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing Aluminum Cable


Keep in mind also that the boxes have to be accessible. You cannot bury the box with the conduit. It would have to be stubbed up above ground.
iminaquagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 04:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,236
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing Aluminum Cable


Buy 2 spools and try to sell the remaining don't splice your only looking for trouble. Check your math.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 04:54 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing Aluminum Cable


find another supplier.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Charlie K. (02-23-2011), Speedy Petey (02-23-2011)
Old 02-23-2011, 05:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,236
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing Aluminum Cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
find another supplier.
Yeah I was tempted to post that.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 01:07 AM   #7
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing Aluminum Cable


might be cheaper to go with #3copper
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 01:26 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing Aluminum Cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by DAlnB View Post
I have to run three 220-foot lengths of #1 aluminum cable through electrical conduit underground. I will need to order and buy a five hundred foot spool, as the local dealer does not stock this wire. He will have to order a full spool and he will not sell just the length I need. That means I would end up with two 220-foot lengths and have a shorter 160-foot piece left. I have sevearl lengths about 30 foot each aleady. Can I splice the 160 piece with another piece to make up the 220 foot and use it with the other two in the conduit? What kind of splicer would I need to use? Is there a possibility it may separate under ground and cause problems later?
If this is in the conduit and what the actual conduit run lengthwise ?

you should come pretty close to that number and #1 alum cable you can check with other supplier some case they will stock a thousand foot spool and cut to that length { some case it will be cheaper this route due you use pretty good part of larger spools }

And with conduits you do not make any splices in the conduit unless you have juction boxes avabile for it.

Really I rather keep the numbers of spices to the minuim as possible ( less things can go wrong on it )

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 04:10 AM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 484
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Splicing Aluminum Cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post
might be cheaper to go with #3copper
I was thinking the same thing. Aluminum is rarely much cheaper in the smaller sizes.

Mark

busman is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splicing Aluminum to Copper Wire dc4nomore Electrical 28 05-08-2012 01:56 PM
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 08:21 PM
Splicing of direct bury aluminum cable a7ecorsair Electrical 4 06-02-2010 12:50 PM
Cable question tommy_vercetti Home Theater 15 09-26-2009 09:10 AM
Siding: Aluminum vs. Vinyl Grumpy Remodeling 0 04-18-2004 03:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.