Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-28-2011, 08:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Share |
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


I'm ready to start my outside project which consists of a GFCI receptacle, a pair of flood lights and a switch using pvc and weather tight boxes. I paid all kinds of attention to getting the correct conductors (UF, THWN) and equipment but didn't even consider my splices. I was planing on basic wire nuts, "greenies" and some Ideal In-Sure connectors. Am I OK??

Thank you,
Ed
whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:28 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,062
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


An inspector told me a recent code change was that splicing materials used in wet areas needed to be rated for the environment and regular wire nuts could not be used any longer. I don't know about about the In-sure push-ins.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:32 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


You can usually do one of a couple things:

1. put in a hand hole or ground box and make the joints in there. You will need to have connectors rated for wet conditions. They make wire nuts filled with silicone goo that work


2. use an underground splice kit. They are designed to be used as direct burial.

Your proposed method will work only if you put the splice in a waterproof box. Even then I tend to use the silicone filled wirenuts. It never remains as dry as you want it to.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


None of the splices are under ground, they are all on a wall in different boxes.
whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


Quote:
Originally Posted by whatrymes
None of the splices are under ground, they are all on a wall in different boxes.
If you are using standard wire nuts, it's a good idea to fill each wire nut with a little bit of silicone before twisting them on. Then, tape the wire nut and position them in the box so they are " upright" and won't hold condensation.
Abcanfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:56 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


what kind of boxes?

Is this in conduit?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
what kind of boxes?

Is this in conduit?
The boxes are the kit sold at electrical supply stores. My 2 gang box is made by "Red dot". They are metal, have threaded holes for conduit and knockout plugs and gaskets.

I am using PVC conduit to run THWN out the house and up a pipe to the flood lights.

Then UF will head to the shed for some more lights and receptacles.
whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:07 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,679
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


Quote:
Originally Posted by whatrymes View Post
None of the splices are under ground, they are all on a wall in different boxes.
Then none of them are in a wet location.
The boxes are, but the splices are NOT.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:15 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


Quote:
Originally Posted by whatrymes View Post
The boxes are the kit sold at electrical supply stores. My 2 gang box is made by "Red dot". They are metal, have threaded holes for conduit and knockout plugs and gaskets.

I am using PVC conduit to run THWN out the house and up a pipe to the flood lights.

Then UF will head to the shed for some more lights and receptacles.
in that situation, what you have will work. For some reason I thought you were splicing underground. I still prefer silicone filled nuts. There is usually enough dampness to cause some corrosion.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:23 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Then none of them are in a wet location.
The boxes are, but the splices are NOT.
I just noticed that the In-Sure push-ins say "For dry locations only." Would inside the box be a "Dry" location?

Thanks again
whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:37 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,679
Default

Splice conductors in wet location


Quote:
Originally Posted by whatrymes View Post
Would inside the box be a "Dry" location?
Yup, that's exactly what I said.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI and grounded conductors whatrymes Electrical 7 04-18-2011 08:58 PM
Help splicing many conductors whatrymes Electrical 12 04-10-2011 11:36 AM
Encourage people to list their location secutanudu Site Help and Suggestions 0 09-15-2010 08:03 AM
Marking buried cable a7ecorsair Electrical 15 07-20-2010 12:27 AM
NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors? Lovegasoline Electrical 7 12-02-2009 10:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.