Splice In Breaker Panel - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2012, 05:22 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

splice in breaker panel


Two wires can go under one screw only when there are grooves or a "cap" washer that hold both wires completely under the screw head before the screw has been fully tightened. The wires do not criss cross or go one atop the other.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:01 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

splice in breaker panel


OK, so at least in my CH panel I can run out of holes in the neutral and ground bars (which have no grooves or cap washers for multiple wires per hole) before I run out of breakers I can tie into. So what are considered best practices for adding more bonding points for neutral and ground wires?
dbooksta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:50 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 150
Default

splice in breaker panel


Please disregard, see Post #20 below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbooksta View Post
OK, so at least in my CH panel I can run out of holes in the neutral and ground bars (which have no grooves or cap washers for multiple wires per hole) before I run out of breakers I can tie into. So what are considered best practices for adding more bonding points for neutral and ground wires?
Take the neutrals from two circuits, and wire nut them together along with a short (6-12" should be enough*) piece of wire (called a "pigtail"). Put the other end of the pigtail in the hole in the neutral bar.

Since the pigtail will be carrying the current from two circuits, it should be a larger gauge (smaller number) than the hot wires for that circuit, since in the worst case, it will be carrying the total current of both circuits.

*You want the pigtail to be long enough to go from its location after it is wire-nutted to the screw holes in the neutral bar.

Use the same method with the ground wires.

Last edited by Dave632; 12-22-2012 at 06:57 PM.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:54 PM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,004
Rewards Points: 2,806
Default

splice in breaker panel


I feel a better solution is just to add an additional ground bar. Move the grounds to this new bar and free up the holes for the neutrals. No chance to have an overloaded neutral, even if upsized.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
dbooksta (12-23-2012)
Old 12-22-2012, 06:55 PM   #20
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

splice in breaker panel


Quote:
Take the neutrals from two circuits, and wire nut them together along with a short (6-12" should be enough*) piece of wire (called a "pigtail"). Put the other end of the pigtail in the hole in the neutral bar.

Since the pigtail will be carrying the current from two circuits, it should be a larger gauge (smaller number) than the hot wires for that circuit, since in the worst case, it will be carrying the total current of both circuits.
This is NOT legal.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
dbooksta (12-23-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
neutral wire splice in breaker panel joelowrider Electrical 24 02-23-2012 02:02 PM
Temporarily feeding a sub panel with 10-3 30 amp breaker rrolleston Electrical 6 02-23-2012 10:40 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 09:43 PM
breaker panel Ehren51 Electrical 1 01-28-2004 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts