Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2010, 01:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Splice 3wire cable run with nicked insulation


Hello - first time in chat room so please bear with any messaging protocol problems - they are unintentional

I am located in Ottawa ON. I have a cable run of about 50' from distribution panel to a switched outlet most of which is routed through the attic and is stapled in position on existing or newly introduced 2x4 beams in the attic. The insulation of the cable in the attic was accidentally nicked in the attic just as it looped through the ceiling approx 12" from the switched outlet cable end. The insulation in the attic is blown about 1' deep coverage. Can I install a junction box (properly fastened to a beam at 16" above attic ceiling) where the nick is located and splice the wiring in order to avoid rerunning the entire cable length?

Thanks

ARC&SPARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 04:31 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,973
Default

Splice 3wire cable run with nicked insulation


Yes you can do as you suggest. But if the nick is only in the outer jacket of the cable and not in the insulation of an individual wire, you can tape up with electrical tape.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone used Green Fiber blown in insulation? pomelo Building & Construction 7 02-10-2010 07:17 AM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 08:00 AM
cable splice kit instead of juction box? pat72 Electrical 18 07-21-2008 05:12 PM
What's the best way to splice 1/0 cable? Randell Tarin Electrical 30 02-01-2008 02:38 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.