Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 03:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Hey all, I picked up a used Speedaire compressor and was installing it today and I was under the impression it was wired for 240v but the plug had 125v stamped on it so now I'm confused and I don't quite understand the wiring diagram. The guy I bought it from had mentioned that this motor can be swapped over to 120v (I have no intention of running it on 120v, though) although I see no mention of it being dual voltage on the name plate.

Can anyone tell me if it looks like I'm wired up for 240v or 120v by these pictures? I do want to use it on 240v. I'm hoping its wired for 240v but I don't know why it would have a 125v plug on it (plug has 3 prongs arranged in a circle) The compressor model is 4b236b and motor is 9tc62a.









motor:


plug


white wire appears to be more heat affected (bubbles in the plastic)

Thanks!!

-Chase


Last edited by tsayyote; 01-08-2012 at 03:37 AM.
tsayyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:29 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Can you take a photo of the plug itself ?

For the connection on the motour swap the yellow et white leads around and it should be in right spot.
( leave the #4 connection the bottom yellow connector alone do not move that one )

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 01-08-2012 at 03:31 AM.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:38 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Can you take a photo of the plug itself ?

For the connection on the motour swap the yellow et white leads around and it should be in right spot.
( leave the #4 connection the bottom yellow connector alone do not move that one )

Merci,
Marc
Edited my post above with a couple pictures of the plug.

I plan to attach a NEMA 6-50P plug to the compressor since that is what my miller welder uses that way I don't have to have a separate receptacle.

Last edited by tsayyote; 01-08-2012 at 03:42 AM.
tsayyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 05:55 AM   #4
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


It is possible that the former user used the 120 twist lock for 240. I you stated there is nothing on the data plate that this is dual voltage unit. I looked thgis up and it not dual voltage. It is 240 @ 15 amps

Last edited by NJMarine; 01-08-2012 at 06:05 AM.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:41 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Per NEC
Motor amps X 125%
Continuous duty line de-rated at 80%

So 15 amps X 125% = 18.75 amps
30 amps x 80% = 24 amps
20 amps x 80% = 16 amps
Per the sticker on the motor 240V 15 amps continuous duty
So in my opinion 240V 30 amp circuit

This is for discussion purpose only and should be confirmed by another source!
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:34 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardway View Post
Per NEC
Motor amps X 125%
Continuous duty line de-rated at 80%

So 15 amps X 125% = 18.75 amps
30 amps x 80% = 24 amps
20 amps x 80% = 16 amps
Per the sticker on the motor 240V 15 amps continuous duty
So in my opinion 240V 30 amp circuit

This is for discussion purpose only and should be confirmed by another source!
A) Just because the motor is "continuous duty" does NOT mean this is considered a continuous circuit. So the 125% requirement is not mandatory.
You have to remember the definition of continuous duty. An air compressor will NEVER be "expected" to run for three hours or more.

B) We do NOT use both the 125% of the load and 80% of the circuit. You can use one or the other.
So even if this were a continuous load it would be appropriate on a 20A circuit.

Of course, since this is a motor load it can be wired with #12 and even be on a 30A breaker since motors follow different codes. IMO since this is a residence I personally don't use those motor rules. The application is not permanent and who knows who will have their hands in things later on or if the current owner moves, leaving an under protected circuit and receptacle.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:36 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
It is possible that the former user used the 120 twist lock for 240. I you stated there is nothing on the data plate that this is dual voltage unit. I looked thgis up and it not dual voltage. It is 240 @ 15 amps
I agree. The other guy just hacked in the wrong plug and receptacle to make it work.
I hope he goes to plug something else into that "120v" receptacle that he has and lets all the smoke out.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:36 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardway View Post
Per NEC
Motor amps X 125%
Continuous duty line de-rated at 80%

So 15 amps X 125% = 18.75 amps
30 amps x 80% = 24 amps
20 amps x 80% = 16 amps
Per the sticker on the motor 240V 15 amps continuous duty
So in my opinion 240V 30 amp circuit

This is for discussion purpose only and should be confirmed by another source!
The motor is rated for continuous duty. The appliance is not continuous duty. The motor is 15 amps @ 240 volts as the motor label clearly shows.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:37 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tsayyote View Post

I plan to attach a NEMA 6-50P plug to the compressor since that is what my miller welder uses that way I don't have to have a separate receptacle.
Well, the motor is thermally protected so while not ideal, this is at least safe.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:06 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,282
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I agree. The other guy just hacked in the wrong plug and receptacle to make it work.
I hope he goes to plug something else into that "120v" receptacle that he has and lets all the smoke out.
That's wishing people well.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (01-08-2012)
Old 01-08-2012, 08:08 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
That's wishing people well.
That's just my style.

Anyone who puts a 120v receptacle on a 240v circuit deserves the consequences.

At the same time I congratulate the OP on scoring a NICE compressor.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:03 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


That should be about a 2½hp motor. (It's NOT listed on the motor)

I wonder what the advertised hp rating is on that compressor? Betcha it's more than that!
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 01:17 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
That should be about a 2½hp motor. (It's NOT listed on the motor)

I wonder what the advertised hp rating is on that compressor? Betcha it's more than that!
Appreciate the feedback! I was told that this is a 5HP motor but as you can see, the nameplate has peeled back a little bit and it is not legible so I have no idea what it's rated at. I picked the compressor up for $325 with a spare head that needs only a new connecting rod, so I feel it was a steal! The previous owner owned a machine shop and needed to upgrade to a more powerful compressor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Well, the motor is thermally protected so while not ideal, this is at least safe.
Would installing a safety interlock or some sort of fuse panel at the compressor be a good idea? I'd rather be safe than sorry. I had a separate circuit with a 30amp breaker and about 30ft of 8awg wire ran to the garage so I could use my welder, I hope this circuit is good enough for the compressor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I agree. The other guy just hacked in the wrong plug and receptacle to make it work.
I hope he goes to plug something else into that "120v" receptacle that he has and lets all the smoke out.
This is what I'm hoping the other owner did instead of incorrectly wiring this motor for 120v. So according to how its wired vs the wiring diagram, is it safe to say that all I need to do is attach a new plug or do I need to move some wires around?



I really appreciate the help everyone's given so far!!!

Last edited by tsayyote; 01-08-2012 at 01:24 PM.
tsayyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:15 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
The motor is rated for continuous duty. The appliance is not continuous duty. The motor is 15 amps @ 240 volts as the motor label clearly shows.
I am going to have to respectfully disagree with you. That motor is rated at 15 amps and under load draw up to around 18 am on start up. Running a sand blaster or an inline sander, it can and will run more then 3 hours continuously. The same basic compressor with same rating manufactured by Ingersol Rand requires a 30 amp circuit. Also running a 30 amp circuit on number 12 wire doesn’t make sense. Also that Speedair compressor is supposed to be hard wired and not a plug. Just my opinion.
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:29 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this Speedaire compressor wired for 240v?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardway View Post
I am going to have to respectfully disagree with you. That motor is rated at 15 amps and under load draw up to around 18 am on start up. Running a sand blaster or an inline sander, it can and will run more then 3 hours continuously. The same basic compressor with same rating manufactured by Ingersol Rand requires a 30 amp circuit. Also running a 30 amp circuit on number 12 wire doesn’t make sense. Also that Speedair compressor is supposed to be hard wired and not a plug. Just my opinion.
If hardwiring is recommended, then that's what i'll do. Only reason for a plug was so that I could easily disconnect it if I need to transport it.

I called Grainger, thankfully the 1-800 number is 24/7 and was able to get a copy of the owners manual. There is a small wiring diagram in it that might be useful, so I uploaded it.

http://pdfcast.org/pdf/speedaire-4b236b-owners-manual

tsayyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.