Speed Control For Fireplace Blower - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2012, 06:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


I bought a Lutron 5A ceiling fan speed controller:
http://www.lutron.com/Products/Stand...elNumbers.aspx

I wanted it to control the fan in my fireplace. When I connect it, the fan doesn't turn on under any setting. When I disconnect it and do a continuity test between the two leads, it always reads infinity, no matter what the setting is. I bought two of them and they both behave the same, which leads me to believe they're not broken.

What can I use to control my fireplace blower?

How on earth do these controllers work if they never connect the power to the switchleg?

Advertisement

fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 09:13 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


Some rotary fan controllers are push on push off, and rotate to control speed.

Advertisement

Terabitdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 09:25 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,401
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


http://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=...&cop=&ei=UTF-8
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 11:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


Can someone who understands the theory behind this explain it to me please? Is my fireplace blower a shaded pole, split-phase or some other type of motor?

What kind of control do I need, since neither a dimmer or ceiling fan speed controller work?

I do know how to use a search engine gregzoll, but obviously haven't found the answer to my question, which is why I cam here.
fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 11:17 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,401
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by fdiddy View Post
Can someone who understands the theory behind this explain it to me please? Is my fireplace blower a shaded pole, split-phase or some other type of motor?

What kind of control do I need, since neither a dimmer or ceiling fan speed controller work?

I do know how to use a search engine gregzoll, but obviously haven't found the answer to my question, which is why I cam here.
The answer to your question is that there is no simple answer to it. May want to look through the links in the search results, vs. trying to post something snarky in return. If you look at the first and second link in that search result, you may realize there is something in there that may actually work (ie contact the company in the link).
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 11:41 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


Any chance can you post the model number of that fan motour ??

I think once you post the model and the number of that unit we can able assit you the correct way to adjust the speed of the fan motour.

Oh BTW., the shaded pole motours don't adjust to the speed very well at all.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 01:21 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


I can't get to the motor nameplate. I'm sure you guys know that it's single phase 120v. I found a lighting instructions sheet with the fireplace serial # and a local phone #. It says the blower is optional. I'm going to try calling tomorrow.

There's a speed control knob inside the unit, doesn't seem like it should be this hard to duplicate it on the wall.

Thanks for the replies.
fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:41 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


If there is a speed control unit inside the fireplace unit then it is possible to run a cable or conduit extending all of the motor conductors (wires) out to a wall switch where power is supplied. But this will void the Underwriters Labs or other safety rating of the fireplace unit. To keep the UL rating you may only connect to the terminals or wires mentioned in the installation manual.

Also the wall speed control switch (if variable like a dimmer or if containing electronic parts such as diodes or capacitors) must be compatible with the blower motor.

Step switches (with low, medium, high, etc.) are easy to duplicate in a remote location except that adding 3 way behavior is very complicated. You may not leave the switch in the fireplace unit connected and active at the same time as a master or override switch because this can cause a short circuit depending on the other switch's position.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-23-2012 at 09:47 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 11:44 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


The wall control (which was a sp switch) controls a receptacle inside the unit into which the blower (controlled by the speed control) is plugged.
fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 12:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


If the blower came with a plug that goes into a receptacle all original within the fireplace unit then you may get away installing an additional receptacle in a separate (perhaps 2-1/2 x 2-1/2 x 4 inch) metal box inside the fireplace unit with a flexible conduit coming out and going to the wall switch.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 01:08 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


The plug inside the fireplace was roughed-in - it is not part of the manufactured unit. The plug right now is controlled by a switch. I want to change the switch to a variable control. The blower, factory controlled by a speed control, plugs into the aforementioned switch.

I would like to know what type of single phase motor is commonly used in fireplace blowers, and how speed control is achieved for that specific type.

Thanks.
fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 01:18 PM   #12
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,300
Rewards Points: 2,178
Default

Speed control for fireplace blower


I have a Jotul fireplace insert with a variable speed fan motor, probably similar to yours. It is controlled by a triac (if you want to know how a triac works, check it out on Ehow, very interesting method). I thought my triac was broken at one point, turned out the plug had fallen out of the outlet (hah hah), but I did open the unit up and found the manufacturer and model of the triac.

It turned out to be a very common device, I assume similar to the one you had in mind, but curiously the housing was custom made for the Jotul. I actually tracked down the manufacturer, unfortunately I cannot remember the name, but they had an office in Florida. I talked to their sales engineer, and he walked me through the testing process, which was a little bit tricky. Once the triac tested OK, I traced the whole circuit, which is when I discovered the loose plug.

So my point is you probably want a triac, google it, find a manufacturer, call them, and they can almost certainly recommend a compatible model.

Advertisement

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjusting blower speed wiring HotTommy HVAC 8 11-21-2011 06:29 AM
2 Pipe Fan Coil AC vertical Cab - 1/10HP Blower Motor High Speed Problem Tyndale HVAC 5 07-10-2011 01:50 PM
Blower speed... joechipley HVAC 1 12-27-2010 09:44 PM
How to adjust blower speed? chrism7 HVAC 13 08-24-2009 01:14 PM
Speed control of ceiling fan pjpjpjpj Electrical 7 03-19-2007 04:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts