Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2008, 10:49 PM   #1
Theres more then one way.
 
iMisspell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 244
Share |
Default

Spacing of high hats ?


The room will be a bedroom, size 12x16 8' walls, two 3x4' windows on one wall (16' wall) at each corner.
Walls have no color right now (just studded out) and have no idea what the finish color will be.
Floors will be oak, more then likely stained a some what dark shade.

The idea right now is...
- three rows stagger spaced in 4' then 3' from the walls
- five lights per-row 3' from end walls
- ceiling fan/light in middle
- two switchs (one toggle, one dimmer, third switch for fan).

Have the lights split between the two switchs like...
x = toggle
- = dimmer
bed at one end, tv at other end
Code:
  x   x   x

-     x     -

  x   o   x

-     x     -

  x   x   x
While im here...
How many lights can be on a single breaker (just lights (single bulb), no outlets) ?



Thanks for any help.

_

__________________
.
~ What was once an opinion, became a fact, to be later proven wrong ~

My current learning experience - 22x22 addition - Work shop, music-room, master bedroom above..
iMisspell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 07:52 AM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Spacing of high hats ?


(fixture wattage/volts) = amps


Last edited by InPhase277; 11-29-2008 at 08:06 PM.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 06:27 PM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

Spacing of high hats ?


Just remember when your placing your lights not to go to close to where the fan will be installed or you will have a strobe effect when the fan is running
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 06:32 PM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Spacing of high hats ?


my high hat is under my left foot, bass drum under right......

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 07:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

Spacing of high hats ?


To answer your question about number of lights on a breaker;
I don't think that the NEC states a maximum number of lights, or receptacles on a breaker; just that the wire size must be rated at least what the breaker is.

You should add up the wattages of all the lamps, then divide by 110 (or 115, your line voltage) to figure the current. I wouldn't want to load any breaker by more than 50% on a regular basis, but that's pretty much up to you.

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 08:02 PM   #6
Theres more then one way.
 
iMisspell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 244
Default

Spacing of high hats ?


Starting to lay out some stuff right now will post back feed-back and or problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
(fixture wattage/volts)x80% = amps
Thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Just remember when your placing your lights not to go to close to where the fan will be installed or you will have a strobe effect when the fan is running
Unless a friend said something, dont think that would have ever popped into my head in till it happened. Thanks !


Quote:
Originally Posted by MdangermouseM View Post
my high hat is under my left foot, bass drum under right......
Southpaw here.
Old jam room... 12x18 barn-shed. Used to be able to get home from work at 12:30am and jam as long as we didn't get too crazy and no one complained (then again, maybe they where scared being it was 12:30 at night, lol).
Attached Thumbnails
Spacing of high hats ?-kit.jpg  
__________________
.
~ What was once an opinion, became a fact, to be later proven wrong ~

My current learning experience - 22x22 addition - Work shop, music-room, master bedroom above..
iMisspell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 08:05 PM   #7
Theres more then one way.
 
iMisspell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 244
Default

Spacing of high hats ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
To answer your question about number of lights on a breaker;
I don't think that the NEC states a maximum number of lights, or receptacles on a breaker; just that the wire size must be rated at least what the breaker is.

You should add up the wattages of all the lamps, then divide by 110 (or 115, your line voltage) to figure the current. I wouldn't want to load any breaker by more than 50% on a regular basis, but that's pretty much up to you.

FW
Thanks...
For some reason i rember 70% but cant think of where i heard it.
Guess ill have to do some math now
__________________
.
~ What was once an opinion, became a fact, to be later proven wrong ~

My current learning experience - 22x22 addition - Work shop, music-room, master bedroom above..
iMisspell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 08:06 PM   #8
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Spacing of high hats ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
To answer your question about number of lights on a breaker;
I don't think that the NEC states a maximum number of lights, or receptacles on a breaker; just that the wire size must be rated at least what the breaker is.

You should add up the wattages of all the lamps, then divide by 110 (or 115, your line voltage) to figure the current. I wouldn't want to load any breaker by more than 50% on a regular basis, but that's pretty much up to you.

FW
No. All around, no. The NEC doesn't state the number of receptacles allowed, but it does place a limit for lighting circuits. The circuit must be sized to 125% of the load, therefore you cannot load a lighting circuit to more than 80% of the rating. And, as for line voltage, the NEC recognizes 120 V as a standard voltage, and I have never seen 110 or 115 volts on a normal circuit that wasn't heavily loaded. Voltage under normal circumstances will almost always be 120 or slightly more.

fixture wattage/volts = amps

I typed it wrong earlier. Circuit sizex80% = allowable amps

Last edited by InPhase277; 11-29-2008 at 08:08 PM.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 08:12 PM   #9
Theres more then one way.
 
iMisspell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 244
Default

Spacing of high hats ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
No. All around, no. The NEC doesn't state the number of receptacles allowed, but it does place a limit for lighting circuits. The circuit must be sized to 125% of the load, therefore you cannot load a lighting circuit to more than 80% of the rating. And, as for line voltage, the NEC recognizes 120 V as a standard voltage, and I have never seen 110 or 115 volts on a normal circuit that wasn't heavily loaded. Voltage under normal circumstances will almost always be 120 or slightly more.

fixture wattage/volts = amps
So.. do the math, reach 12amp and everything should be ok ?

With out checking anything, i was hopping to do the bedroom and two closets off one 15amp breaker.


_

__________________
.
~ What was once an opinion, became a fact, to be later proven wrong ~

My current learning experience - 22x22 addition - Work shop, music-room, master bedroom above..
iMisspell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best High Temp Paint for wood stove?? Sellncars Painting 9 01-21-2009 06:21 PM
venting a high efficiency furnace through the roof (how high) allAboutDIY HVAC 11 10-21-2008 12:48 PM
Old refrigerator = high power consumption? RammsteinNicCage Appliances 6 06-13-2008 10:50 PM
High Eff. Gas Furnace..? Kyle HVAC 17 12-16-2007 11:17 AM
high hats issue brtims Electrical 4 01-15-2007 08:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.