Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2012, 08:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

Spa sub panel


Do i need to use a sub panel specifically labeled as a "spa sub panel"

Can i use a 4 or 6 space weatherproof main lug say murry or square d and just add in my own gfci breakers?

And do the gfci breakers need to be in the sub panel or can i put them in the main service and use standerd breakers in the sub panel?

Kenny101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:52 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Default

Spa sub panel


Dose this not make sense or what? Is it recommended to use a pre manufactured spa subpanel?

Kenny101 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kenny101 For This Useful Post:
J. V. (02-16-2012)
Old 02-15-2012, 11:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Spa sub panel


I think your fine either way but I'll check the code to make sure. Code requires a gfi outlet near the spa are you aware?
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:17 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

Spa sub panel


Kenny


It doesn't make any difference where you install the gfci protection. It is more common to use a spa panel as the required disconnect. That disconnect needs to be within sight but not closer than 5 feet from the spa. These panels often allow for a 40 or 50 amp double pole gfci and the addition for a single pole breaker to run your branch circuit to the required servicing receptacle.

Also the feeder wires from the panel that is bringing power to the spa panel needs to be in an approved conduit. The wires all must be insulated and the correct colors.

Installation of a spa requires strict compliance with code for a safe installation. I suggest you download a free copy of the NEC article 680 and use the search engine on this site to research your project.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 08:33 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

Spa sub panel


A spa panel will be cheaper than buying a single panel, then a 50 amp gfci breaker.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 09:00 AM   #6
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Default

Spa sub panel


There's a few options. A disconnect is required by the hot tub but it doesn't have to be fused. If you can get a gfci breaker for your main panel then go that route and put a cheap $15 non fused disconnect by the hot tub. If you can't get a gfci breaker for a reasonable price, then get a disconnect made for hot tubs with a gfci breaker pre installed
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:23 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Spa sub panel


Use a spa disconnect panel like this. It has the 120 volt convenience receptacle included. Easiest way to go.
Attached Images
 

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel cleanup gdoucette Electrical 5 06-26-2010 02:01 PM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 10:16 AM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.