Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2013, 04:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


A new 50amp spa gfci disconnect was installed and the load from the spa was connected. The gfci breaker tripped. When disconnecting the in line heater of the spa the gfci breaker worked to all other pumps etc of the spa. When the in line heater was replaced the gfci breaker now trips immediately. Disconnecting the load (the two hot leads and the neutral) to the spa still causes the breaker to trip. The incoming hot leads are connected correctly and the pig tail of the breaker is connected to the neutral load block. The breaker trips immediatly. Is the new breaker bad or is there another problem that I should be looking for.

jima512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 05:19 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,134
Rewards Points: 3,062
Blog Entries: 4
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


Sounds like a problem with the heater.Either the heater and replacement are bad or you are not connecting it properly.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 05:24 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


Are the neutrals and equipment grounds isolated from each other at the spa box?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 06:00 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


I appreciate the reply but you did not read the post. There are no connections from the breaker to the spa and yet the breaker still trips. The incoming neutral is connected to the neutral block and the neutral pigtail from the breaker is also connected to the block. There are no connections to the hot tub
jima512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 06:55 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


Quote:
Originally Posted by jima512 View Post
I appreciate the reply but you did not read the post. There are no connections from the breaker to the spa and yet the breaker still trips. The incoming neutral is connected to the neutral block and the neutral pigtail from the breaker is also connected to the block. There are no connections to the hot tub
That is not what I asked. A regrounded GFI will trip every time. Where is the grounding conductor terminated?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 07:27 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,660
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


How are all your earths and neutrals connectted ?
It is important with a GFCI to NOT have
secondary earths or neutrals.
They must be seperate lines going back to the panel,
This must be the only place they are connectted.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 08:57 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


The two hot leads are coming from the breaker on the main box and are connected to the sub panel. The white neutral wire runs from the neutral block of the main box to the neutral block of the sub panel. The bare copper wire is connected to the neutral block of the main box but is not connected to the sub panel. The neutral pig tail of the GFCI breaker is connected to the neutral block of the sub panel.
jima512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 09:07 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,134
Rewards Points: 3,062
Blog Entries: 4
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


You said this
Quote:
When disconnecting the in line heater of the spa the gfci breaker worked to all other pumps etc of the spa.
Which does not jive with this.
Quote:
I appreciate the reply but you did not read the post. There are no connections from the breaker to the spa and yet the breaker still trips.
Is the neutral block at the spa isolated from the ground? The bonding screws is removed?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 10:29 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


We have a communication problem. First when the sub box was replaced the breaker would trip. At the suggestion of the spa manuf I one by one disconnected each pump and retested the breaker. It continued to trip. When disconnecting the heater and leaving the pumps connnected the breaker did not trip and the pumps worked fine. The old in line heater was replaced. The wiring to the sub box did not change but when the breaker was thrown it immediately tripped. Disconnecting the heater (as before) did not solve the problem and the breaker continued to trip. After disconnecting all of the pumps the breaker was tested again and still tripped. I then disconnected all power connections to the spa (the two hot leads and the neutral). With no load on the breaker I still had the breaker trip immediately.
jima512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 10:40 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


Quote:
Originally Posted by jima512 View Post
We have a communication problem. First when the sub box was replaced the breaker would trip. At the suggestion of the spa manuf I one by one disconnected each pump and retested the breaker. It continued to trip. When disconnecting the heater and leaving the pumps connnected the breaker did not trip and the pumps worked fine. The old in line heater was replaced. The wiring to the sub box did not change but when the breaker was thrown it immediately tripped. Disconnecting the heater (as before) did not solve the problem and the breaker continued to trip. After disconnecting all of the pumps the breaker was tested again and still tripped. I then disconnected all power connections to the spa (the two hot leads and the neutral). With no load on the breaker I still had the breaker trip immediately.
OK, sometimes words get jumbled in our old minds. How 'bout a picture?

Quote:
The bare copper wire is connected to the neutral block of the main box but is not connected to the sub panel.
So the bare is just hanging loose?

Take a close look at the neutral buss bar. Is there a GREEN screw anywhere on that bar?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 11:31 PM   #11
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


Quote:
Originally Posted by jima512 View Post
I then disconnected all power connections to the spa (the two hot leads and the neutral). With no load on the breaker I still had the breaker trip immediately.
To clarify, you removed ALL THREE wires (both hots AND the load-side neutral) at the breaker? There is NOTHING connected to any of the breaker's load terminals, including the load neutral terminal? If that's the case and it still trips, then it's a bad breaker. The neutral bar in the spa panel must not be bonded, but it will not cause the GFCI to trip if it is, because the neutral bar is on the line side of the GFCI. Only a neutral-ground connection downstream of the GFCI will cause it to trip without a load.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.

Last edited by mpoulton; 04-07-2013 at 11:33 PM.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 08:17 AM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


How many conductors are feeding the spa from the GFCI ? Is the spa a 120/240 volt unit or a 240volt unit?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 08:52 AM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,134
Rewards Points: 3,062
Blog Entries: 4
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


The first problem sounded like a bad heater.
It now sounds like you have a bad breaker.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 04:56 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The first problem sounded like a bad heater.
It now sounds like you have a bad breaker.
Without a picture, im not going to even comment.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 06:55 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

spa gfci circuit trips with no load connected


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Without a picture, im not going to even comment.
Same here opens up too much liability. No help unless the OP posts a picture.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI breaker trips wth fluorescent light DexterII Electrical 0 11-22-2011 10:01 AM
GFCI Breaker Trips when any light is turned on rexnance Electrical 3 06-03-2011 10:55 AM
Switch triggering GFCI breaker on a DIFFERENT circuit stillmarried Electrical 5 11-29-2009 10:14 PM
GFCI Trips campbellpt Electrical 28 11-21-2008 04:06 PM
20A GFCI on 15A circuit jheavner Electrical 35 10-16-2008 04:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.