Source For Garage Sub-Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2011, 10:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Post

Source for Garage Sub-Panel


First - thanks to all who take time to answer questions on this forum. I have been a "lurker" for years and you all have helped me a lot!

I am about to finish my detached garage. There is a 225a main right next to the meter, which is about a 15 foot run from the garage panel. The actual house main panel would be another 60 feet of cable if I have to come out of it. I am wondering if its possible to tap on after the 225 disconnect with a split bolt or other device, drop into 60a box (maybe GFCI like my hot tub?) and then to the 100a sub in the garage. I already have PVC conduit in place and plan to run #6 or #8 THWN.

Advertisement

mapmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Source for Garage Sub-Panel


Yes, you can tap the service conductors and extend the service to the garage. This is different than installing a feeder. This is a "service extension". Very simple to do. You will need double lug adapters for the disconnect or the meter. These adapters allow for two wires under one lug. You are going to use only 3 wires. See this discussion we had some weeks ago regarding this exact same thing. Good luck.
https://www.ridgidforum.com/forum/t38484/

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 01:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Source for Garage Sub-Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Yes, you can tap the service conductors and extend the service to the garage. This is different than installing a feeder. This is a "service extension". Very simple to do. You will need double lug adapters for the disconnect or the meter. These adapters allow for two wires under one lug. You are going to use only 3 wires. See this discussion we had some weeks ago regarding this exact same thing. Good luck.
https://www.ridgidforum.com/forum/t38484/
If the OP taps the load side of the disconnect, it would be a feeder and need to be 4 wire.

To the OP: you will need 2 ground rods at the garage.

You will need a fused disconnect or a panel with a main breaker at the garage.

You can use Polaris or Ilsco tap connectors if you cannot find the correct double lugs for your disconnect.

Writeup a complete plan and show it to inspector before you start anything. It is easy to fail on this install if you have not done it before.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 02:58 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Source for Garage Sub-Panel


My meter pedestal has a 225 amp rated switch and it has a warning that it is not a breaker. I have 3-wire service conductors from this disconnect to both my garage and to the house main panels. This switch looks just like a breaker and has 225 on the lever.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 03:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Source for Garage Sub-Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
My meter pedestal has a 225 amp rated switch and it has a warning that it is not a breaker. I have 3-wire service conductors from this disconnect to both my garage and to the house main panels. This switch looks just like a breaker and has 225 on the lever.
How do you comply with this.

250.24 Grounding Service-Supplied Alternating-Current
Systems.
(A) System Grounding Connections. A premises wiring
system supplied by a grounded ac service shall have a
grounding electrode conductor connected to the grounded
service conductor, at each service, in accordance with
250.24(A)(1) through (A)(5).
(1) General. The grounding electrode conductor connection
shall be made at any accessible point from the load end
of the service drop or service lateral to and including the
terminal or bus to which the grounded service conductor is
connected at the service disconnecting means.

(5) Load-Side Grounding Connections. A grounded conductor
shall not be connected to normally non–currentcarrying
metal parts of equipment, to equipment grounding
conductor(s), or be reconnected to ground on the load side
of the service disconnecting means except as otherwise permitted
in this article.


Last edited by Code05; 09-22-2011 at 03:16 PM. Reason: add pic
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 03:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Source for Garage Sub-Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
My meter pedestal has a 225 amp rated switch and it has a warning that it is not a breaker. I have 3-wire service conductors from this disconnect to both my garage and to the house main panels. This switch looks just like a breaker and has 225 on the lever.
You are also in violation of this.

230.91 Location. The service overcurrent device shall be
an integral part of the service disconnecting means or shall
be located immediately adjacent thereto.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:19 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Source for Garage Sub-Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
You are also in violation of this.

230.91 Location. The service overcurrent device shall be
an integral part of the service disconnecting means or shall
be located immediately adjacent thereto.
I'm not hijacking this thread just pointing out how my service is and thought the OP should verify that the 225Amp breaker is really a breaker.

My service overcurrent device is my main breaker inside my main panel.
My GEC connects the neutral bar to the UFER ground.

Approved by state electrical inspector and that is how I was told to do it.

My meter pedestal is 80 feet from the house and 60 feet from the garage.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Service/Moving Panel TheAcademician Electrical 17 09-13-2011 08:48 PM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 11:03 AM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 09:00 PM
Moving several circuits to sub panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 2 09-27-2008 03:05 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts