Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2009, 09:16 PM   #16
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Share |
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


Oh, OK. Sorry I missed that line.

Yeah, no reason at all to do this. Boxes are legal as long as they remain accessible, among other code requirements.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 09:52 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
It sounds like they might have done it as a service to force the next owner to fix a dangerous electrical situation. Crude but effective. Make sure to get someone to check all the wiring in the house. As others have said the FPE is junk and you should get rid of it.
Your best bet (in a complicated situation, with the wiring) is to get several estimates from Licensed Electrical Contractors. I'm sure, after fixing all the electrical and plumbing problems (due to sabotage), you could still feel you made a good deal on the house. Good Luck. (No matter what) Don't drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 11:13 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 73
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Sure, get three electricians in there for estimates. Pick the one you are most comfortable with.
I'm liking this answer. Don't do it yourself, doing a panel can easily be done wrong if you don't know what you're doing. It's not as simple as plugging wires into breakers.
Super33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 09:13 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
I would like to hear more of the trough and nipples solution too, something I have not hear of. Please elaborate?
We took a couple of 1 1/2 inch nipples and ran into a trough.
The trough was made to fit inside the studs, ran thhn throught the nipples, made taps in the troughs. This only worked on the cable that was cut flush with the panel.
In the OP case, all the wires seem to be cut in the attic, so this would not work.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 06:14 AM   #20
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


Is it possible to move the box up so you can splice the wires in the new box or will it be to high for code?
__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 07:27 AM   #21
Member
 
RustyRealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 86
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


I think it'll be too high. They cut the the wires about a foot above the box. I think I will us junction boxes. It shouldn't be too difficult, except for the heat up there. August in FL.
__________________
Thanks,
Russell
RustyRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:18 AM   #22
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Come on. Like they'd care.

This is a vindictive act of revenge due to losing their home, plain and simple.
gotta agree with you there Pete!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:12 AM   #23
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


\If this is an older house, you may also want to consider upgrading the service when you replace the panel.
__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:25 AM   #24
Member
 
RustyRealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 86
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


The house was built in 1980. I think it has a 200 amp service. Federal Pacific, of course. Those FP panels are everywhere down here.
__________________
Thanks,
Russell
RustyRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:22 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyRealtor View Post
The house was built in 1980. I think it has a 200 amp service. Federal Pacific, of course. Those FP panels are everywhere down here.
Not only down there in Florida but also up here in the Northeast, in the Midwest, Southwest and Northwest. They were the most (At one point even more so than Square D) popular brand. That's why it hurts so much to have found out that they were a piece of junk. No. A fire hazard!
(Now more than ever)Don't Drink and Drive!!!

Last edited by spark plug; 08-06-2009 at 08:24 PM. Reason: Typographical error (Typo)
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:14 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 73
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Not only down there in Florida but also up here in the Northeast, in the Midwest, Southwest and Northwest. They were the most (At one point even more so than Square D) popular brand. That's why it hurts so much to have found out that they were a piece of junk. No. A fire hazard!
(Now more than ever)Don't Drink and Drive!!!
Well, being an electrician, it doesn't hurt my pocket book much.
Super33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:46 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Super33 View Post
Well, being an electrician, it doesn't hurt my pocket book much.
Good point. I wish (primarily for safety's sake) the City (AHJ) would back away from the "Grandfathering" rule and order all the existing FPE products replaced. On that basis alone, the recession will end (At least for the electricians) without any stimulus funds! (Now more than ever) Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 10:51 PM   #28
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,985
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


My 2 cents.

I'd consider seeing how hard it would be to replace the home runs or ask an electrician to just replace them I hate junction boxes in this type of situation but as Speedy has said it is perfectly legal and would be your easiest solution.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 08:01 AM   #29
Member
 
RustyRealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 86
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


I too would rather replace the home runs. But it probably quadruple the cost. The attic is very tight and the electrician would have to do a lot of belly crawling.
__________________
Thanks,
Russell
RustyRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 08:46 AM   #30
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,770
Default

Someone Cut All The Wires


How did the original electricians get away with installing a panel in a limited access attic space? If you were to replace the panel, the inspectors probably wouldn't let you reinstall in the same location.

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 12 06-10-2014 12:52 AM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.